Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Dover

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Dover HotelPhoto: rjones0856 from USA · CC BY 2.0
Safety in Dover · Not graded

Crime reported in Dover, TN

Dover’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
14 mi
Erin (A)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 1 property crime reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (1.1)Violent crime (0.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Dover0.6
Rest of TN9.1
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Dover1.1
Rest of TN35.4
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Dover’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Tennessee. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearDoverRest of TennesseeDoverRest of Tennessee
20222.333.60.69.1
20231.135.40.69.1
2024not reported30.6not reported8.5
2025not reported24.3not reported6.9

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

3 crimes reported in 2023

1 violent and 2 property, as reported to the FBI by Dover’s police.

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft2
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
2
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Tennessee towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
ErinA14 mi0.33.3
WaverlyB27 mi2.54.1
McEwenB−28 mi3.27.1
ClarksvilleC28 mi4.115.4
ParisC+29 mi2.415.1
CamdenB32 mi1.110.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Dover. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Dover.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Dover’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (12.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Dover’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Dover’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000: 12.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Dover and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Dover
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Dover. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Dover’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,817 in 2023); our figure for Dover is 1,918 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Dover

Is Dover, TN safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Dover. Dover’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Tennessee towns with a grade are Erin (A, 14 mi), Waverly (B, 27 mi), McEwen (B−, 28 mi).

Who polices Dover?

Dover’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Dover”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Dover.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Dover feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.