Photo: Gamweb · CC BY-SA 4.0Daytona Beach Shores goes ungraded: its recorded crime
Within a 25-mile drive lie 2 towns that have a grade. For a graded neighbor, the nearest is Lake Helen (A−), 20 miles away. Without FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, Daytona Beach Shores has nothing to grade it on.
For every 1,000 residents, about 24 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022
Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 2 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Daytona Beach Shores’ police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Daytona Beach Shores | Rest of Florida | Daytona Beach Shores | Rest of Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 24.4 | 22.1 | 2.1 | 4.4 |
| 2023 | not reported | 19.2 | not reported | 3.6 |
| 2024 | not reported | 18.4 | not reported | 3.5 |
| 2025 | not reported | 14.3 | not reported | 3.0 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
139 crimes reported in 2022
2022 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
11 violent and 128 property, as reported to the FBI by Daytona Beach Shores’ police.
The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lake Helen | A− | 20 mi | 1.6 | 3.3 |
| Flagler Beach | B | 23 mi | 2.1 | 7.5 |
| Sanford | D | 32 mi | 5.6 | 23.2 |
| Lake Mary | B | 35 mi | 1.2 | 8.8 |
| Crescent City | B | 37 mi | 0.4 | 11.7 |
| Oviedo | B+ | 37 mi | 1.1 | 5.8 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Daytona Beach Shores. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Daytona Beach Shores.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Eight people died in crashes on Daytona Beach Shores’s roads in 2019–2023
Daytona Beach Shores had 8 fatal crashes in five years, in which eight people died; 4 were pedestrians.
That is more than is typical for Florida towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Daytona Beach Shores’s size would see about 3 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Daytona Beach Shores’s own rate (30.8) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Daytona Beach Shores and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Daytona Beach | — | — | — |
| Port Orange | — | — | — |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Daytona Beach and Port Orange have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Daytona Beach Shores. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Daytona Beach Shores’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (5,251 in 2022); our figure for Daytona Beach Shores is 5,187 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Daytona Beach Shores
Is Daytona Beach Shores, FL safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Daytona Beach Shores. Daytona Beach Shores has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Lake Helen (A−, 20 mi), Flagler Beach (B, 23 mi), Sanford (D, 32 mi).
Who polices Daytona Beach Shores?
Daytona Beach Shores’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Daytona Beach Shores”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Daytona Beach Shores.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.