Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Port Orange

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Dunlawton Plantation-Sugar Mill RuinsDunlawton Plantation-Sugar Mill Ruins · Photo: Ebyabe · CC BY 2.5
Safety in Port Orange · Not graded

Crime reported in Port Orange, FL

Port Orange has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
29
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
838
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
16 mi
Lake Helen (A−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 13 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (13.1)Violent crime (0.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Port Orange0.5
Rest of FL4.5
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Port Orange13.1
Rest of FL22.3
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Port Orange’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearPort OrangeRest of FloridaPort OrangeRest of Florida
202213.122.30.54.5
2023not reported19.2not reported3.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
2025not reported14.3not reported3.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

867 crimes reported in 2022

29 violent and 838 property, as reported to the FBI by Port Orange’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft703
Burglary79
Vehicle theft56
Aggravated assault18
Robbery4
Rape2
Homicide5
Arson2
29
violent crimes
838
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Lake HelenA−16 mi1.63.3
Flagler BeachB26 mi2.17.5
SanfordD27 mi5.623.2
Lake MaryB31 mi1.28.8
OviedoB+33 mi1.15.8
LongwoodC+35 mi2.413.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Port Orange. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Port Orange.

On the roads

35 people died in crashes on Port Orange’s roads in 2019–2023

Port Orange had 35 fatal crashes in five years, in which 35 people died; 5 were pedestrians and 6 were cyclists. 2 died in crashes on an Interstate.

That is 10.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, about the same as the median for Florida towns of 25,000–100,000 people (9.7, 147 towns).

35
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
5
pedestrians among them
6
cyclists among them
10.8
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 25,000–100,000: 9.7

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Port Orange and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Samsula-Spruce Creek———
South Daytona———
Daytona Beach Shores———
New Smyrna Beach———
Ponce Inlet———
Daytona Beach———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Samsula-Spruce Creek is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own. South Daytona, Daytona Beach Shores, New Smyrna Beach, Ponce Inlet and Daytona Beach have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Port Orange. A citywide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of the city to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Port Orange’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (64,037 in 2022); our figure for Port Orange is 66,395 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Port Orange

Is Port Orange, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Port Orange. Port Orange has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Lake Helen (A−, 16 mi), Flagler Beach (B, 26 mi), Sanford (D, 27 mi).

Who polices Port Orange?

Port Orange’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Port Orange”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Port Orange.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Port Orange feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.