Photo: APK · CC BY 4.0Martinsburg goes ungraded: its recorded crime
The nearest town with a Safety Grade is Charles Town, 14 miles away, graded B+. Martinsburg’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 17 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 2 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Martinsburg’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Martinsburg | Rest of West Virginia | Martinsburg | Rest of West Virginia |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | not reported | 28.3 | not reported | 5.2 |
| 2023 | 9.9 | 26.4 | 2.3 | 4.8 |
| 2024 | 17.3 | 24.7 | 2.2 | 4.0 |
| 2025 | not reported | 23.4 | not reported | 3.6 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of West Virginia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
370 crimes reported in 2024
2024 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total. 2024 figures come from FBI Crime Data Explorer, which publishes violent crime, homicides, robberies and property crime only.
42 violent and 328 property, as reported to the FBI by Martinsburg’s police.
The nearest West Virginia towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charles Town | B+ | 14 mi | 0.9 | 9.1 |
| Moorefield | D | 59 mi | 6.6 | 16.8 |
| Morgantown | C | 106 mi | 2.6 | 19.5 |
| Westover | C− | 108 mi | 1.9 | 25.3 |
| Grafton | A− | 109 mi | 0.4 | 7.6 |
| Philippi | B | 113 mi | 2.4 | 6.4 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Martinsburg. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Martinsburg.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
One person died in crashes on Martinsburg’s roads in 2019–2023
Martinsburg had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.
That is fewer than is typical for West Virginia towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (10.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Martinsburg’s size would see about 10 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Martinsburg’s own rate (1.1) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Martinsburg and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Martinsburg. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Martinsburg’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (18,989 in 2024); our figure for Martinsburg is 19,211 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Martinsburg
Is Martinsburg, WV safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Martinsburg. The nearest West Virginia towns with a grade are Charles Town (B+, 14 mi), Moorefield (D, 59 mi), Morgantown (C, 106 mi).
Who polices Martinsburg?
Martinsburg’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Martinsburg Police Department”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Martinsburg.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.