Calvin Coolidge Homestead District · Photo: Shannon McGee from Huntsville, USA · CC BY-SA 2.0Tyson serves Plymouth’s 158 residents
Tyson serves Plymouth’s 158 residents.
What’s behind Plymouth’s civic life grade
Plymouth isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
A year at Tyson
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Find it
Tyson, 286 Dublin Rd., Ludlow.















Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Plymouth resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 158 people it serves ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
| Town | Library | Loans per resident | Hours | Civic life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shrewsbury | Shrewsbury fine-free | 1.2 | 18 | B− |
| Plymouth | Tyson | — | — | — under 1,000 residents |
| Ludlow | Fletcher Memorial fine-free | — | 37 | A |
| Reading | Reading Public | — | — | — under 1,000 residents |
| Mount Holly | Mount Holly Town | — | — | — too few inputs |
| Bridgewater | None of its own | — | — | — under 1,000 residents |
| Mendon | None of its own | — | — | D |
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. Tyson didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
- Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Plymouth
Does Plymouth have a public library?
Yes. Tyson, 286 Dublin Rd., serves Plymouth’s 158 residents (the survey’s count).
How busy is Plymouth’s library?
It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Plymouth’s civic life grade?
Plymouth isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Plymouth.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.