Photo: Famartin · CC BY-SA 4.0What the figures say about crime in New Market, VA
New Market’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. For a graded neighbor, the nearest is Mount Jackson (B−), 7 miles away. Drive 10 miles in any direction and you reach 2 towns with grades of their own.
For every 1,000 residents, about 11 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years New Market’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | New Market | Rest of Virginia | New Market | Rest of Virginia |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 9.6 | 25.2 | 0.9 | 3.5 |
| 2023 | not reported | 24.4 | not reported | 3.5 |
| 2024 | 6.8 | 23.3 | 0.9 | 3.3 |
| 2025 | 10.8 | 20.2 | 0.9 | 3.2 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Virginia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
26 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
2 violent and 24 property, as reported to the FBI by New Market’s police.
The nearest Virginia towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mount Jackson | B− | 7 mi | 0.8 | 14.3 |
| Broadway | A | 7 mi | 0.6 | 3.3 |
| Shenandoah | A− | 11 mi | 1.2 | 4.0 |
| Luray | B− | 12 mi | 1.6 | 13.3 |
| Elkton | B | 16 mi | 1.4 | 8.9 |
| Woodstock | C+ | 18 mi | 1.2 | 19.0 |
Straight-line distance from the center of New Market. Nearby towns can differ a lot from New Market.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
No one died in a crash on New Market’s roads in 2019–2023
That is about what is typical for Virginia towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (4.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of New Market’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so New Market’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
New Market and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of New Market. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against New Market’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,215 in 2025); our figure for New Market is 2,222 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in New Market
Is New Market, VA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for New Market. The nearest Virginia towns with a grade are Mount Jackson (B−, 7 mi), Broadway (A, 7 mi), Shenandoah (A−, 11 mi).
Who polices New Market?
New Market’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “New Market”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in New Market.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.