Old Town Hall and School · Photo: Jerrye & Roy Klotz, MD · CC BY-SA 3.0What is recorded in Haymarket, and why there is no grade
Haymarket’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The closest Safety Grade belongs to Manassas: C. Widen the search to 25 miles and 9 graded towns turn up.
For every 1,000 residents, about 5 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Haymarket’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Haymarket | Rest of Virginia | Haymarket | Rest of Virginia |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | not reported | 25.2 | not reported | 3.5 |
| 2023 | not reported | 24.4 | not reported | 3.5 |
| 2024 | 7.0 | 23.3 | 0.6 | 3.3 |
| 2025 | 5.0 | 20.2 | 0.6 | 3.2 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Virginia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
9 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
1 violent and 8 property, as reported to the FBI by Haymarket’s police.
The nearest Virginia towns with a Safety Grade
Straight-line distance from the center of Haymarket. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Haymarket.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
One person died in crashes on Haymarket’s roads in 2019–2023
Haymarket had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.
That is about what is typical for Virginia towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (4.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Haymarket’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Haymarket’s own rate (12.7) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Haymarket and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gainesville | — | — | — |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Gainesville is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Haymarket. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Haymarket’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,606 in 2025); our figure for Haymarket is 1,602 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Haymarket
Is Haymarket, VA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Haymarket. The nearest Virginia towns with a grade are Manassas (C, 9 mi), Warrenton (B+, 11 mi), Manassas Park (B+, 11 mi).
Who polices Haymarket?
Haymarket’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Haymarket”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Haymarket.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.