Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Crystal City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Sacred Heart Catholic Church, Crystal City, TX IMG 4244 2Photo: Billy Hathorn · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Crystal City · Not graded

Safety in Crystal City: figures, but no grade

Uvalde, 36 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (C−). Crystal City’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
15
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
15
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
36 mi
Uvalde (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported

Property crime (2.5)Violent crime (2.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Crystal City2.5
Rest of TX4.4
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Crystal City2.5
Rest of TX23.9
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 3 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Crystal City’s police reported

Show as a table
YearCrystal CityRest of TexasCrystal CityRest of Texas
2022not reported27.3not reported5.1
20235.826.32.64.7
20242.523.92.54.4
2025not reported20.6not reported3.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Texas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

30 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Robbery0
Homicide0
15
violent crimes
15
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total. 2024 figures come from FBI Crime Data Explorer, which publishes violent crime, homicides, robberies and property crime only.

15 violent and 15 property, as reported to the FBI by Crystal City’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Texas towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
UvaldeC−36 mi3.718.6
Eagle PassC39 mi1.819.2
DilleyB+39 mi1.55.6
PearsallB−46 mi2.28.3
SabinalA49 mi0.73.1
HondoC+61 mi2.014.4

Straight-line distance from the center of Crystal City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Crystal City.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Crystal City’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Texas towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (7.3 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Crystal City’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Crystal City’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Texas towns of 5,000–25,000: 7.3

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Crystal City and its neighbors

Crystal City
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Crystal City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Crystal City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (6,021 in 2024); our figure for Crystal City is 5,871 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Crystal City

Is Crystal City, TX safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Crystal City. The nearest Texas towns with a grade are Uvalde (C−, 36 mi), Eagle Pass (C, 39 mi), Dilley (B+, 39 mi).

Who polices Crystal City?

Crystal City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Crystal City Police Department”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Crystal City feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Crystal City.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.