Miller House · Photo: Dakotanikon · CC BY-SA 4.0Crime reported in Piperton, TN
Piperton’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported
And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
The years Piperton’s police reported
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Tennessee. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
Show as a table
| Year | Piperton | Rest of Tennessee | Piperton | Rest of Tennessee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | not reported | 33.6 | not reported | 9.1 |
| 2023 | 6.5 | 35.4 | 0.0 | 9.1 |
| 2024 | not reported | 30.6 | not reported | 8.5 |
| 2025 | 4.1 | 24.4 | 0.7 | 6.9 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
14 crimes reported in 2025
2 violent and 12 property, as reported to the FBI by Piperton’s police.
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
The nearest Tennessee towns with a Safety Grade
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Collierville | B− | 5 mi | 1.5 | 12.1 |
| Germantown | B− | 10 mi | 1.3 | 12.5 |
| Oakland | A− | 13 mi | 1.1 | 5.2 |
| Bartlett | C+ | 17 mi | 2.5 | 14.2 |
| Somerville | C | 18 mi | 4.4 | 12.0 |
| Memphis | D− | 21 mi | 23.2 | 68.3 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Piperton. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Piperton.
Six people died in crashes on Piperton’s roads in 2019–2023
Piperton had 6 fatal crashes in five years, in which six people died; 1 was a pedestrian. Most of these deaths (4 of 6) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.
That is more than is typical for Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (12.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Piperton’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Piperton’s own rate (46.7) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Piperton and its neighbors
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rossville | — | — | — |
| Collierville | B− | 1.5 | 12.1 |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Rossville reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Piperton. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Piperton’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,896 in 2025); our figure for Piperton is 2,889 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Piperton
Is Piperton, TN safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Piperton. Piperton’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Tennessee towns with a grade are Collierville (B−, 5 mi), Germantown (B−, 10 mi), Oakland (A−, 13 mi).
Who polices Piperton?
Piperton’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Piperton”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Neighbors looking out for each other in Piperton.
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.