Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Baker City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
BakermainstreetPhoto: Finetooth · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Baker City · Not graded

What is recorded in Baker City, and why there is no grade

The closest graded town is La Grande, 40 miles away, at C−. Baker City’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
14
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
154
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
40 mi
La Grande (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 15 property crimes reported

Property crime (15.2)Violent crime (1.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Baker City1.4
Rest of OR3.7
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Baker City15.2
Rest of OR27.5
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Baker City’s police reported

Show as a table
YearBaker CityRest of OregonBaker CityRest of Oregon
202223.536.52.64.1
202311.332.90.73.9
2024not reported30.8not reported4.0
202515.227.51.43.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Oregon. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

168 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft125
Burglary9
Vehicle theft20
Aggravated assault10
Robbery3
Rape0
Homicide1
Arson1
14
violent crimes
154
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

14 violent and 154 property, as reported to the FBI by Baker City’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Oregon towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
La GrandeC−40 mi3.322.6
PendletonD79 mi3.729.7
Milton-FreewaterC+85 mi2.515.6
HermistonD102 mi2.831.7
UmatillaB−107 mi1.910.9
BoardmanB−116 mi2.311.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Baker City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Baker City.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Baker City’s roads in 2019–2023

Baker City had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died. Most of these deaths (1 of 2) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.

That is about what is typical for Oregon towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (3.5 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Baker City’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Baker City’s own rate (3.9) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
3.9
per 100,000 a year · Oregon towns of 5,000–25,000: 3.5

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Baker City and its neighbors

Baker City
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Baker City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Baker City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (10,135 in 2025); our figure for Baker City is 10,071 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Baker City

Is Baker City, OR safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Baker City. The nearest Oregon towns with a grade are La Grande (C−, 40 mi), Pendleton (D, 79 mi), Milton-Freewater (C+, 85 mi).

Who polices Baker City?

Baker City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Baker City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Baker City feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Baker City.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.