Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to New Brunswick

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
New brunswick from the air in February 2026Photo: Alansohn · CC BY-SA 4.0
New Brunswick Free Public Library

New Brunswick’s library lends 0.6 print items per resident, against a typical 3.7 for libraries its size

New Brunswick Free Public Library serves New Brunswick’s 55,266 residents. Last year it lent 41K books, movies and e-books and logged 85K visits.

60 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick 08901 · about 58 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 9% of U.S. towns · #402 of 466 in New Jersey. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
41K
0.7 per resident
Visits a year
85K
1.5 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
841
about 16 a week · 12K attended
Cardholders
16%
8,614 cards
Open
58 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on New Brunswick’s library

Every town next door borrows more

New Brunswick’s library lends 0.7 items per resident. Each of the seven neighboring towns with a library of its own lends more, led by East Brunswick Township at 11. Libraries next door ↓

Few residents carry a card

Only 16% of the people New Brunswick Free Public Library serves have a library card, against a typical 39% for its size. How it compares ↓

Programs lean toward adults

59% of the 841 programs last year were for adults: classes, talks, clubs and events. 245 were for children. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind New Brunswick’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, New Brunswick is ahead of 9% of U.S. towns, #402 of 466 in New Jersey. All three inputs sit below most U.S. towns; New Brunswick’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of New Brunswick’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 9%
FewerMore
New Jersey towns we grade (466)Ahead of 14%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $49K–$82K (8,653)Ahead of 9%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($49K–$82K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from D− to D. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

178 community nonprofits are registered in New Brunswick

3.2 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture150.27 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation40.07 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans420.75 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services360.64 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education330.59 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health200.35 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals40.07 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other240.43 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (51 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 11 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

3.1%

3.1% of New Brunswick’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.2% in the typical New Jersey town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where New Brunswick’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.5 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 77%
Borrowing per resident 0.6 print items · typical 3.7Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0.2 e-items · typical 1.2Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0 kids’ items · typical 1.7Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.3Lower than 70%
Programs offered 15.2 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Higher than 53%
Cardholders 16% of residents · typical 39%Bottom 10%
Spending $41 per resident · typical $40Higher than 51%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in NJ#192Most-used librariesof 234 towns
#224Most library borrowingof 234 towns
Size group

New Brunswick Free Public Library serves 55,266 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 14 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

85K
visits
1.5 per resident
41K
loans, print + digital
0.7 per resident
841
programs & events
12K attended
8,614
library cards
16% of people served
Every open hour14items borrowed
Every week222people at a program
Every day19Wi-Fi sessions
22 staff (full-time equivalent)26 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

41K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

41Kloans
Books & media (adults) 78%Kids’ books & media 0%E-books, audio & streaming 22%
From your couch

8,781 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 5 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in New Brunswick →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5138
Ages 6–11107
Teens100
Adults496
All ages0
Little ones
2.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

12K
people at programs
841
programs
The building

Find it

New Brunswick Free Pub. Lib., 60 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick.

58
hours open a week
20,000
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in New Brunswick? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average New Brunswick cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$41 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $2.3M.

Local taxes 95%State 1%Gifts & other 4%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $811K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $2.3M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 8,614 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

New Brunswick ranks 8th of 8 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
East Brunswick TownshipEast Brunswick Public Library10.765B+
Highland ParkHighland Park Public Library fine-free6.458C+
Edison TownshipEdison Twsp. Free Public Lib fine-free5.668C−
Franklin TownshipFranklin Twp. Pub. Lib./Somerset4.861D
East FranklinLewis Street Branch4.826— graded as part of its town
North Brunswick TownshipNo. Brunswick Free Pub. Lib.3.660D
Piscataway TownshipPiscataway Public Library fine-free3.662C−
New BrunswickNew Brunswick Free Pub. Lib.0.758D
SomersetNone of its own——— graded as part of its town
VoorheesNone of its own——— graded as part of its town

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in New Brunswick

Does New Brunswick have a public library?

Yes. New Brunswick Free Public Library, 60 Livingston Avenue, serves New Brunswick’s 55,266 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 58 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is New Brunswick Free Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is New Brunswick’s library?

It logged 1.5 visits and lent 0.7 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is New Brunswick’s civic life grade?

D New Brunswick is ahead of 9% of U.S. towns on civic life, #402 of 466 in New Jersey. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in New Brunswick.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.