Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Franklin Park

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Franklin Twp Public Library/Somerset

Franklin Park’s library runs 22 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 14 for libraries its size

Franklin Twp Public Library/Somerset serves 68,364 people in and around Franklin Park. Last year it lent 325K books, movies and e-books and logged 75K visits.

3391 Rt. 27 S., Suite 101, Franklin Park 08823 · about 43 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
325K
4.8 per resident
Visits a year
75K
1.1 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
1,491
about 29 a week · 30K attended
Cardholders
36%
24,935 cards
Open
43 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on Franklin Park’s library

Franklin Twp Public Library/Somerset serves more than Franklin Park

The library’s service area covers 68,364 people in and around Franklin Park, so its per-resident numbers are measured against that wider population. How it compares ↓

Fewer visits than most libraries its size

Franklin Twp Public Library/Somerset records 1.1 visits per resident, against a typical 2.6 for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people, below 88% of similar-size libraries. Borrowing holds up better, at 3.6 print items per resident. How it compares ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Franklin Park’s civic life grade

Franklin Park isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Franklin Park’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.1 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 88%
Borrowing per resident 3.6 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 51%
Digital borrowing 1.2 e-items · typical 1.2Higher than 50%
Kids’ borrowing 1.4 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 57%
Program attendance 0.4 attendees · typical 0.3Higher than 65%
Programs offered 21.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Higher than 73%
Cardholders 36% of residents · typical 39%Lower than 57%
Spending $45 per resident · typical $40Higher than 57%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Franklin Twp Public Library/Somerset serves 68,364 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 48 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

75K
visits
1.1 per resident
325K
loans, print + digital
4.8 per resident
1,491
programs & events
30K attended
25K
library cards
36% of people served
Every open hour48items borrowed
Every week571people at a program
Every week1,438visits
28 staff (full-time equivalent)23 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

325K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

325Kloans
Books & media (adults) 46%Kids’ books & media 29%E-books, audio & streaming 25%
From your couch

80,334 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 13 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Franklin Park →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5417
Ages 6–11234
Teens66
Adults544
All ages230
Little ones
8

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

95K
kids’ books & media borrowed
30K
people at programs
1,491
programs
The building

Find it

Franklin Park, 3391 Rt. 27 S., Suite 101, Franklin Park.

43
hours open a week
5,500
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Franklin Park? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.67 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Franklin Park cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$45 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $3.1M.

Local taxes 98%State 1%Gifts & other 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $5.2M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $3.1M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 24,935 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Franklin Park ranks 2nd of 4 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
South Brunswick TownshipSo. Brunswick Pub. Lib.8.283C+
Franklin ParkFranklin Park4.843— graded as part of its town
Franklin TownshipFranklin Twp. Pub. Lib./Somerset4.861D
North Brunswick TownshipNo. Brunswick Free Pub. Lib.3.660D
Six Mile RunNone of its own——— graded as part of its town
Ten Mile RunNone of its own——— graded as part of its town
Pleasant PlainsNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Kendall ParkNone of its own——— graded as part of its town

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Franklin Park

Does Franklin Park have a public library?

Yes. Franklin Twp Public Library/Somerset, 3391 Rt. 27 S., Suite 101, serves 68,364 people in and around Franklin Park (the survey’s count) and is open about 43 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Franklin Twp Public Library/Somerset fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Franklin Park’s library?

It logged 1.1 visits and lent 4.8 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Franklin Park’s civic life grade?

Franklin Park isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Franklin Park.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.