Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Asbury Park

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Paramount Theatre Asbury Park Convention Hall NJ2Photo: Acroterion · CC BY-SA 4.0
Asbury Park Free Public Library

Asbury Park’s library runs 39 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 24 for libraries its size

Asbury Park Free Public Library serves Asbury Park’s 15,188 residents. Last year it lent 20K books, movies and e-books and logged 14K visits.

500 First Avenue, Asbury Park 07712 · about 48 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 8% of U.S. towns · #412 of 466 in New Jersey. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
20K
1.3 per resident
Visits a year
14K
0.9 per resident · Below typical (3.1)
Programs & events
598
about 12 a week · 4,118 attended
Cardholders
22%
3,311 cards
Open
48 hrs
a week
In brief

What Asbury Park’s library is like

Asbury Park Free Public Library is used less than most libraries its size

Asbury Park Free Public Library records 0.9 visits per resident, against a typical 3.1 for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people. Borrowing is 1.1 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9. How it compares ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Asbury Park’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Asbury Park is ahead of 8% of U.S. towns, #412 of 466 in New Jersey. All three inputs sit below most U.S. towns; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Asbury Park’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 8%
FewerMore
New Jersey towns we grade (466)Ahead of 12%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $57K–$94K (9,250)Ahead of 7%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($57K–$94K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from D− to D. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

33 community nonprofits are registered in Asbury Park

2.2 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture60.41 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation40.23 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans60.38 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services70.48 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education30.18 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health20.12 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.08 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other50.30 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (13 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.1%

6.1% of Asbury Park’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.2% in the typical New Jersey town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Asbury Park’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.9 visits · typical 3.1Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 1.1 print items · typical 3.9Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0.3 e-items · typical 1.1Lower than 87%
Kids’ borrowing 0.3 kids’ items · typical 1.8Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.4Lower than 70%
Programs offered 39.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 24Higher than 76%
Cardholders 22% of residents · typical 40%Lower than 84%
Spending $66 per resident · typical $43Higher than 75%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in NJ#220Most-used librariesof 234 towns
#207Most library borrowingof 234 towns
#194Best libraries for kidsof 215 towns
Size group

Asbury Park Free Public Library serves 15,188 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 8 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

14K
visits
0.9 per resident
20K
loans, print + digital
1.3 per resident
598
programs & events
4,118 attended
3,311
library cards
22% of people served
Every open hour8items borrowed
Every week79people at a program
Every day14Wi-Fi sessions
12 staff (full-time equivalent)18 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

20K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

20Kloans
Books & media (adults) 56%Kids’ books & media 24%E-books, audio & streaming 20%
From your couch

4,058 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 3 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Asbury Park →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–581
Ages 6–11100
Teens91
Adults290
All ages36
Little ones
1.6

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
2

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Asbury Park last year.

4,118
people at programs
598
programs
The building

Find it

Asbury Park Free Public Library, 500 First Avenue, Asbury Park.

48
hours open a week
15,300
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Asbury Park? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Asbury Park cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$66 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $1M.

Local taxes 99%State 1%Gifts & other 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $368K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 3,311 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Neptune TownshipNeptune Township Public Library2.146C−
Asbury ParkAsbury Park Free Public Library fine-free1.348D
Ocean TownshipOcean Township Public Library—58B−
WanamassaNone of its own——— graded as part of its town
Ocean GroveNone of its own——— graded as part of its town
Loch ArbourNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
InterlakenNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Asbury Park

Does Asbury Park have a public library?

Yes. Asbury Park Free Public Library, 500 First Avenue, serves Asbury Park’s 15,188 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 48 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Asbury Park Free Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Asbury Park’s library?

It logged 0.9 visits and lent 1.3 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.1 visits for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people.

What is Asbury Park’s civic life grade?

D Asbury Park is ahead of 8% of U.S. towns on civic life, #412 of 466 in New Jersey. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Asbury Park.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.