Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Brookline

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Main Street, Brookline NHPhoto: John Phelan · CC BY-SA 3.0
Brookline Public Library

Brookline’s library lends 5.5 print items per resident, against a typical 3.8 for libraries its size

Brookline Public Library serves Brookline’s 5,851 residents. Last year it lent 40K books, movies and e-books and drew 4,079 people to its programs.

16 Main Street, Brookline 03033 · about 40 hours a week
B+Civic lifeAhead of 70% of U.S. towns · #42 of 126 in New Hampshire. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
40K
6.9 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
267
about 5 a week · 4,079 attended
Cardholders
48%
2,805 cards
Open
40 hrs
a week
In brief

Brookline’s library, in brief

Every town next door borrows more

Brookline’s library lends 6.9 items per resident. Each of the four neighboring towns with a library of its own lends more, led by Townsend at 13. Libraries next door ↓

Still charges late fines, unlike its neighbors

Brookline Public Library charges late fines on some overdue items. All four libraries in neighboring towns have dropped them. What your card is worth ↓

Most programs are for young children

72% of the 267 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 3.7 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Brookline’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Brookline is ahead of 70% of U.S. towns, #42 of 126 in New Hampshire. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Brookline is graded on two of the three inputs. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; Brookline’s count of community nonprofits pulls it down.

B+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Brookline’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 70%
FewerMore
New Hampshire towns we grade (126)Ahead of 67%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $128K–$214K (1,175)Ahead of 66%

The survey’s stand-in for Brookline’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Brookline is small (5,858 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

17 community nonprofits are registered in Brookline

3.0 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture10.17 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation40.70 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans30.52 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services30.52 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education40.70 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.17 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.17 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

13.2%

13.2% of Brookline’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.9% in the typical New Hampshire town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Brookline’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on all 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 5.5 print items · typical 3.8Higher than 69%
Digital borrowing 1.4 e-items · typical 1Higher than 64%
Kids’ borrowing 2.2 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 63%
Program attendance 0.7 attendees · typical 0.5Higher than 63%
Programs offered 45.6 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Higher than 62%
Cardholders 48% of residents · typical 42%Higher than 59%
Spending $60 per resident · typical $43Higher than 70%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in NH
#52Most library borrowingof 120 towns
#74Best libraries for kidsof 108 towns
Size group

Brookline Public Library serves 5,851 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 19 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

40K
loans, print + digital
6.9 per resident
267
programs & events
4,079 attended
2,805
library cards
48% of people served
Every open hour19items borrowed
Every week78people at a program
Every day2Wi-Fi sessions
6 staff (full-time equivalent)1 public computers32K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

40K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

40Kloans
Books & media (adults) 48%Kids’ books & media 32%E-books, audio & streaming 21%
How hard the shelves work
1×

Each of the 32K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1 time last year, on average.

From your couch

8,393 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 4 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Brookline →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5191
Ages 6–110
Teens12
Adults64
All ages0
Little ones
3.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
8

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Brookline last year.

4,079
people at programs
267
programs
The building

Find it

Brookline Public Library, 16 Main Street, Brookline.

40
hours open a week
5,102
square feet
32K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Brookline? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.84 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Brookline cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$60 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $353K.

Local taxes 97%Gifts & other 3%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $650K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $353K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 2,805 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Brookline ranks 5th of 5 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
TownsendTownsend Public Library fine-free13.245A
HollisHollis Social Library fine-free8.845B+
MilfordWilliam Y. Wadleigh Memorial Library fine-free7.848C+
MasonMason Public Library fine-free7.820B+
BrooklineBrookline Public Library6.940B+

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Brookline Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Brookline

Does Brookline have a public library?

Yes. Brookline Public Library, 16 Main Street, serves Brookline’s 5,851 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 40 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Brookline Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Brookline’s library?

It lent 6.9 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 267 programs that drew 4,079 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Brookline’s civic life grade?

B+ Brookline is ahead of 70% of U.S. towns on civic life, #42 of 126 in New Hampshire. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Brookline.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.