Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Kill Devil Hills

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Wright Brothers National Memorial landscapePhoto: Yuming Huang · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Kill Devil Hills · Not graded

Crime reported in Kill Devil Hills, NC

Kill Devil Hills’ police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
17
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
117
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
4 mi
Kitty Hawk (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 15 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (15)Violent crime (2.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Kill Devil Hills2.2
Rest of NC5.3
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Kill Devil Hills15.0
Rest of NC28.9
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Kill Devil Hills’ police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearKill Devil HillsRest of North CarolinaKill Devil HillsRest of North Carolina
202227.228.92.35.7
202320.229.64.25.5
202415.028.92.25.3
2025not reported25.2not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

134 crimes reported in 2024

17 violent and 117 property, as reported to the FBI by Kill Devil Hills’ police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft90
Burglary25
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault12
Robbery3
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson0
17
violent crimes
117
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest North Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Kitty HawkC+4 mi2.116.8
Nags HeadD6 mi3.133.4
Southern ShoresB+8 mi0.111.0
Elizabeth CityC−37 mi3.924.1
EdentonC52 mi4.115.2
PlymouthD−61 mi13.330.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Kill Devil Hills. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Kill Devil Hills.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Kill Devil Hills’s roads in 2019–2023

Kill Devil Hills had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died; 2 were pedestrians and 2 were cyclists.

That is about what is typical for North Carolina towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (7.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Kill Devil Hills’s size would see about 3 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Kill Devil Hills’s own rate (12.9) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
2
pedestrians among them
2
cyclists among them
12.9
per 100,000 a year · North Carolina towns of 5,000–25,000: 7.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Kill Devil Hills and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Nags Head: Safety Grade DKitty Hawk: Safety Grade C+Nags HeadKitty HawkKill Devil Hills
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Nags HeadD3.133.4
Kitty HawkC+2.116.8

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Kill Devil Hills. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Kill Devil Hills’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (7,817 in 2024); our figure for Kill Devil Hills is 7,731 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Kill Devil Hills

Is Kill Devil Hills, NC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Kill Devil Hills. Kill Devil Hills’ police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest North Carolina towns with a grade are Kitty Hawk (C+, 4 mi), Nags Head (D, 6 mi), Southern Shores (B+, 8 mi).

Who polices Kill Devil Hills?

Kill Devil Hills’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Kill Devil Hills”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Kill Devil Hills.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Kill Devil Hills feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.