Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Columbus

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Charles McLaran HouseCharles McLaran House · Photo: Jack Boucher · Public domain
Safety in Columbus · Not graded

Crime reported in Columbus, MS

Columbus’ police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
106
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
373
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
16 mi
West Point (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 17 property crimes reported

And about 5 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (16.6)Violent crime (4.7)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Columbus4.7
Rest of MS3.0
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Columbus16.6
Rest of MS19.2
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Columbus’ police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Mississippi. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearColumbusRest of MississippiColumbusRest of Mississippi
2022not reported25.1not reported2.9
2023not reported24.5not reported2.5
2024not reported22.1not reported2.5
202516.619.24.73.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

479 crimes reported in 2025

106 violent and 373 property, as reported to the FBI by Columbus’ police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft296
Burglary51
Vehicle theft26
Aggravated assault93
Robbery6
Rape7
Homicide0
Arson3
106
violent crimes
373
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Mississippi towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
West PointC−16 mi5.818.1
StarkvilleC+24 mi0.720.9
AmoryD33 mi5.122.7
AckermanB+46 mi0.49.7
VardamanA−51 mi1.61.3
FultonB−52 mi1.215.9

Straight-line distance from the center of Columbus. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Columbus.

On the roads

12 people died in crashes on Columbus’s roads in 2019–2023

Columbus had 11 fatal crashes in five years, in which 12 people died.

That is 10.3 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, about the same as the median for Mississippi towns of 5,000–25,000 people (11.6, 52 towns).

12
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
10.3
per 100,000 a year · Mississippi towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Columbus and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Columbus
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Columbus. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Columbus’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (22,535 in 2025); our figure for Columbus is 22,792 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Columbus

Is Columbus, MS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Columbus. Columbus’ police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Mississippi towns with a grade are West Point (C−, 16 mi), Starkville (C+, 24 mi), Amory (D, 33 mi).

Who polices Columbus?

Columbus’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Columbus”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Columbus.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Columbus feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.