Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Garden City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Garden City, MissouriPhoto: Paltron · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Garden City · Not graded

Safety in Garden City: figures, but no grade

Garden City’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The closest graded town is Harrisonville, 10 miles away, at C−. Within a 25-mile drive lie 10 towns that have a grade.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
7
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
10 mi
Harrisonville (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 5 property crimes reported

Property crime (4.5)Violent crime (0.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Garden City0.6
Rest of MO6.0
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Garden City4.5
Rest of MO27.0
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Garden City’s police reported

Show as a table
YearGarden CityRest of MissouriGarden CityRest of Missouri
2022not reported31.8not reported6.4
2023not reported28.8not reported5.9
20244.527.00.66.0
2025not reported22.9not reported5.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Missouri. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

8 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft4
Burglary2
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
7
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

1 violent and 7 property, as reported to the FBI by Garden City’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Missouri towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
HarrisonvilleC−10 mi4.415.7
AdrianC+14 mi2.810.6
HoldenB15 mi1.68.0
Pleasant HillB+17 mi1.16.6
PeculiarB−19 mi1.510.8
GreenwoodA21 mi0.83.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Garden City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Garden City.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Garden City’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Missouri towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Garden City’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Garden City’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Missouri towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Garden City and its neighbors

Garden City
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Garden City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Garden City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,562 in 2024); our figure for Garden City is 1,617 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Garden City

Is Garden City, MO safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Garden City. The nearest Missouri towns with a grade are Harrisonville (C−, 10 mi), Adrian (C+, 14 mi), Holden (B, 15 mi).

Who polices Garden City?

Garden City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Garden City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Garden City feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Garden City.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.