Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Natick

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Natick centerPhoto: Marcbela (Marc N. Belanger) · Public domain
Morse Institute Library

Natick’s library lends 13 print items per resident, against a typical 3.7 for libraries its size

Morse Institute Library serves Natick’s 29,705 residents. Last year it lent 373K print books and media and logged 150K visits.

14 East Central Street, Natick 01760 · about 64 hours a week
BCivic lifeAhead of 63% of U.S. towns · #129 of 283 in Massachusetts. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
373K
12.6 per resident
Visits a year
150K
5 per resident · Above typical (2.6)
Programs & events
1,031
about 20 a week · 15K attended
Cardholders
59%
17,516 cards
Open
64 hrs
a week
In brief

What Natick’s library is like

Natick uses its library more than almost any town its size

Morse Institute Library logs 5 visits per resident, against a typical 2.6 for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people, and lends 13 print items per resident against a typical 3.7. On both counts it beats 87% of similar-size libraries across the U.S. How it compares ↓

Kids borrow more here than almost anywhere

Children’s books and media are 47% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 93% of similar-size libraries. That works out to about 22 items per child in Natick last year. Kids & programs ↓

Twice the programs of a typical library its size

Morse Institute Library ran 1,031 programs last year, about 20 a week. That’s 35 per 1,000 residents, against a typical 14. Kids & programs ↓

Open about 64 hours a week

Morse Institute Library is open about 64 hours a week, averaged over the year. The buildings ↓

Programs lean toward adults

59% of the 1,031 programs last year were for adults: classes, talks, clubs and events. 213 were for children. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Natick’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Natick is ahead of 63% of U.S. towns, #129 of 283 in Massachusetts. Library visits hold the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

B
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Natick’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 63%
FewerMore
Massachusetts towns we grade (283)Ahead of 55%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $104K–$173K (2,838)Ahead of 65%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from B− to B+. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

169 community nonprofits are registered in Natick

4.6 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: education.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture180.49 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation240.65 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans250.68 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services280.76 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education300.81 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health100.27 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals110.30 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other230.62 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (26 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 4 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

6.8%

6.8% of Natick’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.9% in the typical Massachusetts town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Natick’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · What people borrow

Almost half the print loans are kids’ books

373K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

373Kloans
Books & media (adults) 53%Kids’ books & media 47%
How hard the shelves work
2.4×

Each of the 154K books and other items on the shelves went out about 2.4 times last year, on average.

From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on all 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 5 visits · typical 2.6Higher than 87%
Borrowing per resident 12.6 print items · typical 3.7Top 10%
Kids’ borrowing 5.9 kids’ items · typical 1.7Top 10%
Program attendance 0.5 attendees · typical 0.3Higher than 74%
Programs offered 34.7 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Top 10%
Cardholders 59% of residents · typical 39%Higher than 79%
Spending $107 per resident · typical $40Top 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in MA#97Most-used librariesof 263 towns
#46Most library borrowingof 268 towns
#55Best libraries for kidsof 268 towns
Size group

Morse Institute Library serves 29,705 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

A year at Morse Institute Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

150K
visits
5 per resident
373K
loans, print + digital
12.6 per resident
1,031
programs & events
15K attended
18K
library cards
59% of people served
Every week296people at a program
Every day194Wi-Fi sessions
33 staff (full-time equivalent)14 public computers154K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

About 4 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Natick →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5174
Ages 6–1139
Teens110
Adults613
All ages95
Little ones
3.3

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
22

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Natick last year.

15K
people at programs
1,031
programs
The buildings

2 places to borrow in Natick

Morse Institute Library, 14 East Central Street, Natick.

64
hours open a week
66,000
square feet
154K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Natick? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

Other libraries in Natick

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.84 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Natick cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$348
a year at retail prices · $29 a month

Who pays for it
$107 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $3.2M.

Local taxes 92%State 2%Gifts & other 6%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $5.8M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $3.2M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 17,516 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Natick ranks 5th of 7 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
WestonWeston Public Library fine-free23.565A−
WellesleyWellesley Free Library fine-free18.1—A−
SherbornSherborn Library fine-free16.748A+
WaylandWayland Free Public Library fine-free13.262A−
NatickMorse Institute Library fine-free12.664B
DoverDover Town Library fine-free12.551A−
FraminghamFramingham Public Library fine-free6.3—C
CochituateNone of its own——— graded as part of its town

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Visits are a typical-week estimate. Morse Institute Library counted one typical week and multiplied by 52, as the survey allows.
  • Digital loans not reported. Massachusetts libraries often don’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Natick

Does Natick have a public library?

Yes. Morse Institute Library, 14 East Central Street, serves Natick’s 29,705 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 64 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Morse Institute Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Natick’s library?

It logged 5.0 visits and lent 12.6 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Natick’s civic life grade?

B Natick is ahead of 63% of U.S. towns on civic life, #129 of 283 in Massachusetts. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Natick.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.