Photo: Indiana Mosaic · CC BY-SA 4.0What the figures say about crime in Yorktown, IN
Inside a 10-mile circle, only Muncie carries a grade. Yorktown’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Within a 25-mile drive lie 4 towns that have a grade.
For every 1,000 residents, about 2 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Yorktown’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Yorktown | Rest of Indiana | Yorktown | Rest of Indiana |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | not reported | 23.2 | not reported | 4.8 |
| 2023 | 5.1 | 22.3 | 0.4 | 4.9 |
| 2024 | 2.2 | 20.3 | 0.5 | 4.6 |
| 2025 | not reported | 15.0 | not reported | 3.5 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Indiana. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
32 crimes reported in 2024
2024 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
6 violent and 26 property, as reported to the FBI by Yorktown’s police.
The nearest Indiana towns with a Safety Grade
Straight-line distance from the center of Yorktown. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Yorktown.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Three people died in crashes on Yorktown’s roads in 2019–2023
Yorktown had 3 fatal crashes in five years, in which three people died.
That is about what is typical for Indiana towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (8.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Yorktown’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Yorktown’s own rate (5.1) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Yorktown and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Muncie | D | 5.1 | 21.8 |
| Harrison Township | — | — | — |
| Salem Township | — | — | — |
| Center Township | — | — | — |
| Richland Township | — | — | — |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Harrison Township, Salem Township, Center Township and Richland Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Yorktown. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Yorktown’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (11,810 in 2024); our figure for Yorktown is 11,947 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Yorktown
Is Yorktown, IN safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Yorktown. The nearest Indiana towns with a grade are Muncie (D, 6 mi), Anderson (C−, 11 mi), Elwood (A−, 18 mi).
Who polices Yorktown?
Yorktown’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Yorktown”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Yorktown.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.