Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Hartford

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Hartford · Not graded

Crime and safety in Hartford, IL

Inside a 10-mile circle sit 10 graded neighbors. Hartford’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. South Roxana, 2 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (C+).

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
18
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
2 mi
South Roxana (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 16 property crimes reported

Property crime (15.7)Violent crime (0.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Hartford0.9
Rest of IL3.2
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Hartford15.7
Rest of IL19.8
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Hartford’s police reported

Show as a table
YearHartfordRest of IllinoisHartfordRest of Illinois
2022not reported20.5not reported3.7
20234.319.51.73.4
202415.719.80.93.2
2025not reported17.1not reported2.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Illinois. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

19 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft11
Burglary5
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
18
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

1 violent and 18 property, as reported to the FBI by Hartford’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Illinois towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
South RoxanaC+2 mi2.311.9
Wood RiverC4 mi2.217.2
East AltonC5 mi3.713.3
EdwardsvilleA−6 mi0.36.1
Granite CityD6 mi6.524.3
BethaltoB+7 mi0.98.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Hartford. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Hartford.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Hartford’s roads in 2019–2023

Hartford had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for Illinois towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Hartford’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Hartford’s own rate (30.0) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
30.0
per 100,000 a year · Illinois towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.1

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Hartford and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Roxana———
Granite CityD6.524.3
Wood RiverC2.217.2
South RoxanaC+2.311.9
Madison———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Roxana reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025. Madison has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Hartford. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Hartford’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,147 in 2024); our figure for Hartford is 1,153 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Hartford

Is Hartford, IL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Hartford. The nearest Illinois towns with a grade are South Roxana (C+, 2 mi), Wood River (C, 4 mi), East Alton (C, 5 mi).

Who polices Hartford?

Hartford’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Hartford”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Hartford feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Hartford.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.