Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Tybee Island

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
TYBEE BPhoto: BakedintheHole · CC BY 4.0
Safety in Tybee Island · Not graded

What is recorded in Tybee Island, and why there is no grade

Tybee Island’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest town with a Safety Grade is Thunderbolt, 11 miles away, graded C+. Widen the search to 25 miles and 3 graded towns turn up.

Violent crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
31
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
11 mi
Thunderbolt (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 10 property crimes reported

Property crime (9.9)Violent crime (0.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Tybee Island0.6
Rest of GA3.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Tybee Island9.9
Rest of GA18.0
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Tybee Island’s police reported

Show as a table
YearTybee IslandRest of GeorgiaTybee IslandRest of Georgia
202226.324.72.34.9
202310.825.45.74.4
2024not reported21.5not reported3.8
20259.918.00.63.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Georgia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

33 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft29
Burglary2
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
2
violent crimes
31
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

2 violent and 31 property, as reported to the FBI by Tybee Island’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Georgia towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
ThunderboltC+11 mi2.013.4
Garden CityD20 mi7.329.1
Port WentworthB24 mi1.610.4
BloomingdaleB−28 mi1.114.0
Richmond HillB28 mi1.49.9
RinconA−30 mi0.65.5

Straight-line distance from the center of Tybee Island. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Tybee Island.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Tybee Island’s roads in 2019–2023

Tybee Island had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died; 1 was a pedestrian.

That is about what is typical for Georgia towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (10.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Tybee Island’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Tybee Island’s own rate (6.4) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
6.4
per 100,000 a year · Georgia towns of 2,500–5,000: 10.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Tybee Island and its neighbors

Tybee Island
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Tybee Island. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Tybee Island’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (3,147 in 2025); our figure for Tybee Island is 3,156 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Tybee Island

Is Tybee Island, GA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Tybee Island. The nearest Georgia towns with a grade are Thunderbolt (C+, 11 mi), Garden City (D, 20 mi), Port Wentworth (B, 24 mi).

Who polices Tybee Island?

Tybee Island’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Tybee Island”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Tybee Island feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Tybee Island.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.