Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to West Palm Beach

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Alfred J. Comeau HouseAlfred J. Comeau House · Photo: Ebyabe · CC BY-SA 3.0
Mandel Public Library of West Palm Beach

West Palm Beach’s library runs 28 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 9 for libraries its size

Mandel Public Library of West Palm Beach serves West Palm Beach’s 125,319 residents. Last year it lent 309K print books and media and logged 241K visits.

411 Clematis Street, West Palm Beach 33401 · about 63 hours a week
CCivic lifeAhead of 31% of U.S. towns · #114 of 273 in Florida. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
309K
2.5 per resident
Visits a year
241K
1.9 per resident · Below typical (2.1)
Programs & events
3,560
about 68 a week · 60K attended
Cardholders
64%
80,359 cards
Open
63 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on West Palm Beach’s library

Three times the programs of a typical library its size

Mandel Public Library of West Palm Beach ran 3,560 programs last year, about 68 a week. That’s 28 per 1,000 residents, against a typical 9. People show up: 60,000 attended. Kids & programs ↓

Most programs are for young children

72% of the 3,560 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 8.2 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind West Palm Beach’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, West Palm Beach is ahead of 31% of U.S. towns, #114 of 273 in Florida. Among the 385 U.S. cities over 100,000 we grade, it ranks #162. West Palm Beach’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; library visits pull it down.

C
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of West Palm Beach’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 31%
FewerMore
Florida towns we grade (273)Ahead of 58%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $55K–$92K (9,216)Ahead of 30%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($55K–$92K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from C− to C+. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

572 community nonprofits are registered in West Palm Beach

4.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture530.43 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation470.39 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans750.61 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services1641.34 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education800.66 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health600.49 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals260.22 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other670.55 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (178 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 41 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

6.0%

6.0% of West Palm Beach’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.6% in the typical Florida town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where West Palm Beach’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

About 49 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in West Palm Beach →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5427
Ages 6–112,139
Teens404
Adults588
All ages2
Little ones
8.2

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

60K
people at programs
3,560
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.9 visits · typical 2.1Lower than 56%
Borrowing per resident 2.5 print items · typical 3.2Lower than 64%
Program attendance 0.5 attendees · typical 0.2Higher than 89%
Programs offered 28.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Top 10%
Cardholders 64% of residents · typical 41%Higher than 82%
Spending $44 per resident · typical $36Higher than 60%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in FL#13Most-used librariesof 19 towns
#9Most library borrowingof 20 towns
Size group

Mandel Public Library of West Palm Beach serves 125,319 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Mandel Public Library of West Palm Beach

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

241K
visits
1.9 per resident
309K
loans, print + digital
2.5 per resident
3,560
programs & events
60K attended
80K
library cards
64% of people served
Every week1,147people at a program
Every day234Wi-Fi sessions
48 staff (full-time equivalent)231 public computers170K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

309K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for West Palm Beach’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

How hard the shelves work
1.8×

Each of the 170K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.8 times last year, on average.

The building

Find it

Mandel Public Library of West Palm Beach, 411 Clematis Street, West Palm Beach.

63
hours open a week
85,000
square feet
170K
books & media

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.11 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average West Palm Beach cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$44 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $5.5M.

Local taxes 88%State 1%Gifts & other 11%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $6.1M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $5.5M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 80,359 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

West Palm Beach borrows the most per resident of the 3 towns here. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
West Palm BeachMandel Public Library of West Palm Beach fine-free2.563C
Riviera BeachRiviera Beach Public Library fine-free0.2—C
Lake Worth BeachLake Worth Beach Public Library fine-free0.240D−
Palm Beach GardensGardens Branch fine-free——C
Mangonia ParkNone of its own——C
Palm BeachNone of its own——B−
Lake Clarke ShoresNone of its own——D

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in West Palm Beach

Does West Palm Beach have a public library?

Yes. Mandel Public Library of West Palm Beach, 411 Clematis Street, serves West Palm Beach’s 125,319 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 63 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Mandel Public Library of West Palm Beach fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is West Palm Beach’s library?

It logged 1.9 visits and lent 2.5 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is West Palm Beach’s civic life grade?

C West Palm Beach is ahead of 31% of U.S. towns on civic life, #114 of 273 in Florida. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in West Palm Beach.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.