Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Fort Garland

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Fort Garland, ColoradoPhoto: Jeffrey Beall · CC BY-SA 3.0
Blanca/Fort Garland Library · part of Costilla County Public Library

Fort Garland’s library is a branch of Costilla County Public Library, which lends less per resident than 99% of systems its size

Fort Garland’s library is the Blanca/Fort Garland Library, a branch of Costilla County Public Library, which serves 3,636 people and lent 131 items last year.

17591 E Highway 160, Blanca 81123 · about 32 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
131
0 per resident
Visits a year
1,111
0.3 per resident · Below typical (3)
Programs & events
24
about 1 a week · 24 attended
Cardholders
18%
650 cards
Open
32 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

Fort Garland’s library, in brief

The Costilla County Public Library system is used less than most libraries its size

The Costilla County Public Library system records 0.3 visits per resident, against a typical 3 for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people. Borrowing is 0 print items per resident, against a typical 3.8. It also spends less than most: $22 per resident, against a typical $43. How it compares ↓

Few programs for a library this size

The Costilla County Public Library system offered 24 programs last year, 6.6 per 1,000 residents against a typical 34. Kids & programs ↓

Few residents carry a card

Only 18% of the people the system serves have a library card, against a typical 42% for its size. How it compares ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Fort Garland’s library is a branch of Costilla County Public Library, so they cover the whole system (3,636 people), not just the Fort Garland branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Fort Garland’s civic life grade

Fort Garland isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Fort Garland’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.3 visits · typical 3Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 0 print items · typical 3.8Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0 e-items · typical 1Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0 kids’ items · typical 1.6Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.5Bottom 10%
Programs offered 6.6 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Lower than 89%
Cardholders 18% of residents · typical 42%Lower than 89%
Spending $22 per resident · typical $43Lower than 82%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Costilla County Public Library serves 3,636 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

A year at Costilla County Public Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Costilla County Public Library system. The library’s own count.

1,111
visits
0.3 per resident
131
loans, print + digital
0 per resident
24
programs & events
24 attended
650
library cards
18% of people served
Every open hour0items borrowed
Every week0people at a program
Every week21visits
2 staff (full-time equivalent)4 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

131 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

131loans
Books & media (adults) 100%Kids’ books & media 0%E-books, audio & streaming 0%
Kids & programs

24 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Fort Garland →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–50
Ages 6–1124
Teens0
Adults0
All ages0
24
people at programs
24
programs
The building

Find it

Blanca/Fort Garland Library, 17591 E Highway 160, Blanca.

32
hours open a week
1,634
square feet
With a card

No late fees. Good at every Costilla County Public Library branch.

New in Fort Garland? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Fort Garland cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$22 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $78K.

Local taxes 100%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $2,467 worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $78K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 650 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Blanca/Fort Garland Library is one branch of Costilla County Public Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 3,636 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Fort Garland

Does Fort Garland have a public library?

Yes: Blanca/Fort Garland Library, 17591 E Highway 160, is a branch of Costilla County Public Library, which serves 3,636 people. The branch is open about 32 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Costilla County Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Fort Garland’s library?

It logged 0.3 visits and lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3 visits for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people.

What is Fort Garland’s civic life grade?

Fort Garland isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Fort Garland.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.