Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to National City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
USA CA NationalCity Center 002 2013 - Mile of CarsPhoto: Der-wuppertaler · CC BY-SA 3.0
National City Public Library

National City’s library runs 6.5 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 14 for libraries its size

National City Public Library serves National City’s 58,555 residents. Last year it lent 105K books, movies and e-books and logged 118K visits.

1401 National City Blvd., National City 91950 · about 52 hours a week
D−Civic lifeAhead of 4% of U.S. towns · #361 of 448 in California. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
105K
1.8 per resident
Visits a year
118K
2 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
382
about 7 a week · 5,344 attended
Open
52 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on National City’s library

Below typical on every measure

Against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people, National City Public Library sits below the middle on all six per-resident measures we compare, and in the bottom 30% on five. How it compares ↓

A big collection for the borrowing it gets

National City Public Library holds 212,000 books and other items, but the average item went out less than once last year. What people borrow ↓

Almost all the borrowing is off the shelf

Only 5% of loans are e-books, audiobooks or streaming, fewer per resident than at 97% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind National City’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, National City is ahead of 4% of U.S. towns, #361 of 448 in California. All three inputs sit below most U.S. towns; library visits come closest to the middle.

D−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of National City’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 4%
FewerMore
California towns we grade (448)Ahead of 19%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $50K–$84K (8,750)Ahead of 4%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($50K–$84K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from D− to D. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

85 community nonprofits are registered in National City

1.4 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture90.15 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation110.18 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans150.26 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services190.33 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education30.05 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health60.10 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals40.06 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other180.31 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (44 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 20 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

2.6%

2.6% of National City’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where National City’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 64%
Borrowing per resident 1.7 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 77%
Digital borrowing 0.1 e-items · typical 1.2Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.5 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 85%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.3Bottom 10%
Programs offered 6.5 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Lower than 84%
Spending $44 per resident · typical $40Higher than 55%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in CA#77Most-used librariesof 116 towns
#95Most library borrowingof 117 towns
#104Best libraries for kidsof 117 towns
Size group

National City Public Library serves 58,555 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 41 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

118K
visits
2 per resident
105K
loans, print + digital
1.8 per resident
382
programs & events
5,344 attended
Every open hour41items borrowed
Every week103people at a program
Every day30Wi-Fi sessions
20 staff (full-time equivalent)85 public computers212K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

105K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

105Kloans
Books & media (adults) 69%Kids’ books & media 27%E-books, audio & streaming 5%
How hard the shelves work
0.5×

Each of the 212K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.5 time last year, on average.

From your couch

4,765 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 4 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in National City →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–552
Ages 6–11144
Teens44
Adults116
All ages26
Little ones
1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
2

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in National City last year.

5,344
people at programs
382
programs
The building

Find it

National City Public Library, 1401 National City Blvd., National City.

52
hours open a week
49,508
square feet
212K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in National City? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average National City resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$44 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $2.6M.

Local taxes 95%State 5%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.7M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $2.6M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 58,555 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

National City ranks 2nd of 3 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
San DiegoSan Diego Central Library fine-free4.450C+
National CityNational City Public Library fine-free1.852D−
Chula VistaCivic Center Branch fine-free1.6—D−
BonitaNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in National City

Does National City have a public library?

Yes. National City Public Library, 1401 National City Blvd., serves National City’s 58,555 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 52 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is National City Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is National City’s library?

It logged 2.0 visits and lent 1.8 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is National City’s civic life grade?

D− National City is ahead of 4% of U.S. towns on civic life, #361 of 448 in California. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in National City.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.