Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Merced

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Tioga Hotel - Merced California (cropped)Photo: Publichall · CC BY-SA 3.0
Merced County Library

Merced’s library lends 0.9 print items per resident, against a typical 3.2 for libraries its size

Merced County Library serves 287,303 people in and around Merced. Last year it lent 299K books, movies and e-books and drew 21K people to its programs.

2100 O St., Merced 95340 · about 47 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 12% of U.S. towns · #278 of 448 in California. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
299K
1 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
3,113
about 60 a week · 21K attended
Cardholders
11%
30,587 cards
Open
47 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

The short version on Merced’s library

Few residents carry a card

Only 11% of the people the system serves have a library card, against a typical 41% for its size. How it compares ↓

Kids’ books are most of what goes out

Children’s books and media make up 62% of print loans. Per resident, kids’ borrowing is lower than at 89% of similar-size libraries, so the high share mostly reflects light borrowing by adults. What people borrow ↓

Runs on less money than most

Merced County Library spends $15 per resident, less than 91% of similar-size libraries (typical: $36). What your card is worth ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Merced County Library serves 287,303 people in and around Merced, and its numbers cover all of them.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Merced’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Merced is ahead of 12% of U.S. towns, #278 of 448 in California. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Merced is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Merced’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Merced’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 12%
FewerMore
California towns we grade (448)Ahead of 38%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $47K–$79K (8,274)Ahead of 11%

The survey’s stand-in for Merced’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Merced County Library spends $15 per resident, against a typical $36 for libraries its size.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($47K–$79K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

271 community nonprofits are registered in Merced

3.0 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture170.18 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation450.49 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans480.52 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services490.53 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education450.49 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health150.16 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals140.15 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other380.41 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (83 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 4 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

4.4%

4.4% of Merced’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Merced’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 0.9 print items · typical 3.2Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0.2 e-items · typical 1.4Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.5 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 89%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.2Bottom 10%
Programs offered 10.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 58%
Cardholders 11% of residents · typical 41%Bottom 10%
Spending $15 per resident · typical $36Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Merced County Library serves 287,303 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 16 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Merced County Library system. The library’s own count.

299K
loans, print + digital
1 per resident
3,113
programs & events
21K attended
31K
library cards
11% of people served
Every open hour16items borrowed
Every week403people at a program
Every day36Wi-Fi sessions
37 staff (full-time equivalent)61 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

299K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

299Kloans
Books & media (adults) 33%Kids’ books & media 53%E-books, audio & streaming 15%
From your couch

43,808 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 25 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Merced →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5837
Ages 6–11442
Teens787
Adults640
All ages407
Little ones
16.1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

157K
kids’ books & media borrowed
21K
people at programs
3,113
programs
The building

Find it

Merced County Library, 2100 O St., Merced.

47
hours open a week
44,050
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Merced County Library branch.

New in Merced? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.05 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Merced cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$15 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $4.3M.

Local taxes 96%State 4%Gifts & other 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $4.5M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $4.3M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 30,587 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
MercedMerced County Library—47D
FranklinNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Merced County Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • System-wide. Merced County Library serves 287,303 people in and around Merced, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Merced.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Merced

Does Merced have a public library?

Yes. Merced County Library, 2100 O St., serves 287,303 people in and around Merced (the survey’s count) and is open about 47 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Merced County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Merced’s library?

It lent 1.0 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 3,113 programs that drew 20,935 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Merced’s civic life grade?

D Merced is ahead of 12% of U.S. towns on civic life, #278 of 448 in California. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Merced.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.