Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Tombstone

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Tombstone Main street 61Photo: Gillfoto · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Tombstone · Not graded

Crime reported in Tombstone, AZ

Tombstone’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
30
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
18 mi
Sierra Vista (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 21 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (21.4)Violent crime (2.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Tombstone2.1
Rest of AZ3.9
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Tombstone21.4
Rest of AZ16.2
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Tombstone’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Arizona. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearTombstoneRest of ArizonaTombstoneRest of Arizona
202231.322.33.14.8
2023not reported20.3not reported4.5
2024not reported19.5not reported4.6
202521.416.22.13.9

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

33 crimes reported in 2025

3 violent and 30 property, as reported to the FBI by Tombstone’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft24
Burglary4
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault3
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
3
violent crimes
30
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Arizona towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Sierra VistaC+18 mi2.115.7
BisbeeB+24 mi1.37.2
DouglasB−39 mi0.913.9
WillcoxC39 mi3.113.4
SahuaritaB+54 mi0.99.2
TucsonD55 mi4.727.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Tombstone. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Tombstone.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Tombstone’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Arizona towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (11.3 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Tombstone’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Tombstone’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Arizona towns of 2,500–5,000: 11.3

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Tombstone and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Tombstone
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Tombstone. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Tombstone’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,401 in 2025); our figure for Tombstone is 1,376 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Tombstone

Is Tombstone, AZ safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Tombstone. Tombstone’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Arizona towns with a grade are Sierra Vista (C+, 18 mi), Bisbee (B+, 24 mi), Douglas (B−, 39 mi).

Who polices Tombstone?

Tombstone’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Tombstone”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Tombstone.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Tombstone feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.