Photo: Rgper22008 · Public domainWhat is recorded in South Tucson, and why there is no grade
There are no FBI figures for South Tucson by itself for 2023–2025, so the grade has nothing to work from. Widen the search to 25 miles and 4 graded towns turn up. The closest graded town is Tucson, 6 miles away, at D.
For every 1,000 residents, about 133 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022
Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 24 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years South Tucson’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | South Tucson | Rest of Arizona | South Tucson | Rest of Arizona |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 132.9 | 22.2 | 24.0 | 4.8 |
| 2023 | not reported | 20.3 | not reported | 4.5 |
| 2024 | not reported | 19.5 | not reported | 4.6 |
| 2025 | not reported | 16.2 | not reported | 3.9 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Arizona. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
712 crimes reported in 2022
2022 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
109 violent and 603 property, as reported to the FBI by South Tucson’s police.
The nearest Arizona towns with a Safety Grade
Straight-line distance from the center of South Tucson. Nearby towns can differ a lot from South Tucson.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Two people died in crashes on South Tucson’s roads in 2019–2023
South Tucson had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died; 2 were pedestrians.
That is about what is typical for Arizona towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (11.3 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of South Tucson’s size would see about 3 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so South Tucson’s own rate (8.8) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
South Tucson and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of South Tucson. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against South Tucson’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (4,537 in 2022); our figure for South Tucson is 4,452 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in South Tucson
Is South Tucson, AZ safe?
There is no Safety Grade for South Tucson. South Tucson has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Arizona towns with a grade are Tucson (D, 6 mi), Oro Valley (B+, 16 mi), Sahuarita (B+, 18 mi).
Who polices South Tucson?
South Tucson’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “South Tucson”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in South Tucson.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.