Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Phoenix

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Downtown Phoenix Aerial Looking NortheastPhoto: DPPed · CC BY-SA 3.0
Phoenix Public Library

Phoenix’s library logs 1.3 visits per resident, against a typical 2.1 for libraries its size

Phoenix Public Library serves Phoenix’s 1,697,696 residents from 17 locations. Last year it lent 1M books, movies and e-books and logged 2.1M visits.

1221 N Central Ave, Phoenix 85004 · about 58 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 6% of U.S. towns · #56 of 68 in Arizona. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
1M
5.9 per resident
Visits a year
2.1M
1.3 per resident · Below typical (2.1)
Programs & events
8,970
about 173 a week · 231K attended
Open
58 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on Phoenix’s library

Most of Phoenix’s borrowing is digital

E-books, e-audiobooks and streaming make up 52% of loans, more per resident than at 79% of similar-size libraries. Print still makes up 48%, much of it kids’ books. What people borrow ↓

17 places to borrow in Phoenix

Phoenix Public Library runs 17 locations, and one card works at all of them. The buildings ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Phoenix’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Phoenix is ahead of 6% of U.S. towns, #56 of 68 in Arizona. Among the 385 U.S. cities over 100,000 we grade, it ranks #324. All three inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Phoenix’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Phoenix’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 6%
FewerMore
Arizona towns we grade (68)Ahead of 18%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $61K–$102K (9,081)Ahead of 6%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($61K–$102K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from D− to D. A citywide figure averages five boroughs that differ a lot; libraries are reported by system (below), not by neighborhood.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

4,198 community nonprofits are registered in Phoenix

2.6 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture3520.21 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation4900.30 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans5280.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services9660.59 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education6460.39 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health3910.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals2550.16 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other5710.35 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1,243 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 242 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

4.5%

4.5% of Phoenix’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.0% in the typical Arizona town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Phoenix’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · What people borrow

52% of borrowing is digital

1M loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

1Mloans
Books & media (adults) 27%Kids’ books & media 22%E-books, audio & streaming 52%
From your couch

5,226,131 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.3 visits · typical 2.1Lower than 83%
Borrowing per resident 2.9 print items · typical 3.2Lower than 56%
Digital borrowing 3.1 e-items · typical 1.4Higher than 79%
Kids’ borrowing 1.3 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 61%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.2Lower than 78%
Programs offered 5.3 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Lower than 81%
Spending $30 per resident · typical $36Lower than 57%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in AZ#36Most-used librariesof 40 towns
#22Most library borrowingof 40 towns
#30Best libraries for kidsof 40 towns
Size group

Phoenix Public Library serves 1,697,696 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 221 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

2.1M
visits
1.3 per resident
1M
loans, print + digital
5.9 per resident
8,970
programs & events
231K attended
Every open hour221items borrowed
Every week4,450people at a program
Every day15,223Wi-Fi sessions
442 staff (full-time equivalent)733 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves and library cards. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

About 112 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Phoenix →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–53,791
Ages 6–112,034
Teens711
Adults1,878
All ages556
Little ones
72.9

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
6

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Phoenix last year.

231K
people at programs
8,970
programs
The buildings

17 places to borrow in Phoenix

Burton Barr Central Library, 1221 N Central Ave, Phoenix.

58
hours open a week
280,000
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Phoenix? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

Other libraries in Phoenix

And 4 more in Phoenix.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $3.29 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Phoenix resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$30 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $51M.

Local taxes 97%State 1%Federal 2%Gifts & other 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $169M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $51M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 1,697,696 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Phoenix ranks 4th of 7 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Cave CreekDesert Foothills Library fine-free18.552A
TollesonTolleson Public Library fine-free9.251C−
ScottsdaleScottsdale Civic Center Library fine-free8.752C
PhoenixBurton Barr Central Library fine-free5.958D
PeoriaPeoria Public Library System fine-free5.150D
GlendaleGlendale Main Library fine-free4.948D
TempeTempe Public Library fine-free4.960C−
AvondaleCivic Center Library fine-free—38D−
Paradise ValleyNone of its own——B−
New RiverNone of its own——— unincorporated
Maricopa ColonyNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves and library cards. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Phoenix

Does Phoenix have a public library?

Yes. Phoenix Public Library, 1221 N Central Ave, serves Phoenix’s 1,697,696 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 58 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Phoenix Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Phoenix’s library?

It logged 1.3 visits and lent 5.9 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Phoenix’s civic life grade?

D Phoenix is ahead of 6% of U.S. towns on civic life, #56 of 68 in Arizona. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Phoenix.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.