Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Florence

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Main Street original town-site of Florence Arizona National Register of Historic PlacesPhoto: Tony the Marine · CC BY-SA 3.0
Viney Jones Library

Florence’s library lends 2.1 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size

Viney Jones Library serves Florence’s 24,175 residents. Last year it lent 58K books, movies and e-books and logged 72K visits.

778 N Main St., Florence 85132 · about 34 hours a week
C−Civic lifeAhead of 21% of U.S. towns · #42 of 68 in Arizona. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
58K
2.4 per resident
Visits a year
72K
3 per resident · Below typical (3.1)
Programs & events
576
about 11 a week · 4,270 attended
Cardholders
40%
9,612 cards
Open
34 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on Florence’s library

Below typical on every measure

Against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people, Viney Jones Library sits below the middle on all seven per-resident measures we compare, and in the bottom 30% on four. How it compares ↓

Programs lean toward adults

56% of the 576 programs last year were for adults: classes, talks, clubs and events. 188 were for children. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Florence’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Florence is ahead of 21% of U.S. towns, #42 of 68 in Arizona. All three inputs sit below most U.S. towns; library visits come closest to the middle.

C−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Florence’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 21%
FewerMore
Arizona towns we grade (68)Ahead of 39%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $60K–$100K (9,163)Ahead of 20%

Florence’s 2024 visits are an estimate from one typical week (the survey’s method for libraries that don’t count every visit).

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($60K–$100K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from D to C. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

52 community nonprofits are registered in Florence

2.0 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture30.12 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation70.27 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans130.51 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services130.51 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education60.23 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health30.12 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.04 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other60.23 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (15 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 2 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

6.4%

6.4% of Florence’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.0% in the typical Arizona town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Florence’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 3 visits · typical 3.1Lower than 51%
Borrowing per resident 2.1 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 74%
Digital borrowing 0.3 e-items · typical 1.1Lower than 86%
Kids’ borrowing 0.8 kids’ items · typical 1.8Lower than 74%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.4Lower than 83%
Programs offered 23.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 24Higher than 50%
Cardholders 40% of residents · typical 40%Higher than 50%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in AZ#28Most-used librariesof 40 towns
#37Most library borrowingof 40 towns
#24Best libraries for kidsof 40 towns
Size group

Viney Jones Library serves 24,175 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 33 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

72K
visits
3 per resident
58K
loans, print + digital
2.4 per resident
576
programs & events
4,270 attended
9,612
library cards
40% of people served
Every open hour33items borrowed
Every week82people at a program
Every day53Wi-Fi sessions
6 staff (full-time equivalent)21 public computers39K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending and funding. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

58K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

58Kloans
Books & media (adults) 54%Kids’ books & media 34%E-books, audio & streaming 12%
How hard the shelves work
1.3×

Each of the 39K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.3 time last year, on average.

From your couch

6,961 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 4 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Florence →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5100
Ages 6–1188
Teens48
Adults322
All ages18
Little ones
1.9

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
7

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Florence last year.

4,270
people at programs
576
programs
The buildings

2 places to borrow in Florence

Viney Jones Library, 778 N Main St., Florence.

34
hours open a week
9,866
square feet
39K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Florence? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

Other libraries in Florence

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Florence cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 9,612 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
CoolidgeCoolidge Public Library3.043C−
FlorenceViney Jones Library fine-free2.434C−
San Tan ValleySan Tan Valley Library fine-free—47— unincorporated
BlackwaterNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending and funding. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Visits are a typical-week estimate. Viney Jones Library counted one typical week and multiplied by 52, as the survey allows.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Florence

Does Florence have a public library?

Yes. Viney Jones Library, 778 N Main St., serves Florence’s 24,175 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 34 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Viney Jones Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Florence’s library?

It logged 3.0 visits and lent 2.4 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.1 visits for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people.

What is Florence’s civic life grade?

C− Florence is ahead of 21% of U.S. towns on civic life, #42 of 68 in Arizona. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Florence.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.