Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Scottsboro

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Jackson County Courthouse, Scottsboro, AlabamaPhoto: Carol M. Highsmith · Public domain
Safety in Scottsboro · Not graded

Crime in Scottsboro: the figures, without a grade

Widen the search to 25 miles and 8 graded towns turn up. Grant, 15 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (D). Scottsboro’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
44
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
352
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
15 mi
Grant (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 22 property crimes reported

Property crime (21.9)Violent crime (2.7)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Scottsboro2.7
Rest of AL4.4
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Scottsboro21.9
Rest of AL19.9
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 3 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Scottsboro’s police reported

Show as a table
YearScottsboroRest of AlabamaScottsboroRest of Alabama
2022not reported24.8not reported5.3
2023not reported22.2not reported4.9
202417.721.82.04.8
202521.919.92.74.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Alabama. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

396 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft312
Burglary28
Vehicle theft12
Aggravated assault36
Robbery0
Rape8
Homicide0
Arson5
44
violent crimes
352
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

44 violent and 352 property, as reported to the FBI by Scottsboro’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Alabama towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
GrantD15 mi2.833.3
SylvaniaB+15 mi0.67.9
RainsvilleA16 mi0.54.5
HenagarB−18 mi1.712.0
StevensonC−21 mi4.415.5
GuntersvilleC−22 mi3.528.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Scottsboro. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Scottsboro.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

18 people died in crashes on Scottsboro’s roads in 2019–2023

Scottsboro had 17 fatal crashes in five years, in which 18 people died; 2 were pedestrians and 2 were cyclists.

That is 22.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for Alabama towns of 5,000–25,000 people (9.6, 96 towns).

18
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
2
pedestrians among them
2
cyclists among them
22.9
per 100,000 a year · Alabama towns of 5,000–25,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Scottsboro and its neighbors

Hollywood: not gradedHollywoodScottsboro
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Scottsboro. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Scottsboro’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (16,054 in 2025); our figure for Scottsboro is 16,123 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Scottsboro

Is Scottsboro, AL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Scottsboro. The nearest Alabama towns with a grade are Grant (D, 15 mi), Sylvania (B+, 15 mi), Rainsville (A, 16 mi).

Who polices Scottsboro?

Scottsboro’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Scottsboro”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Scottsboro feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Scottsboro.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.