Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Graysville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Graysville · Not graded

Crime and safety in Graysville, AL

Graysville’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Of the graded towns, Adamsville is the closest, at D.

Violent crimes
7
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
36
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
3 mi
Adamsville (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 20 property crimes reported

Property crime (19.6)Violent crime (3.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Graysville3.8
Rest of AL4.4
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Graysville19.6
Rest of AL19.9
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 4 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Graysville’s police reported

Show as a table
YearGraysvilleRest of AlabamaGraysvilleRest of Alabama
2022not reported24.8not reported5.3
2023not reported22.2not reported4.9
20244.421.80.04.8
202519.619.93.84.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Alabama. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

43 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft24
Burglary5
Vehicle theft7
Aggravated assault7
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
7
violent crimes
36
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

7 violent and 36 property, as reported to the FBI by Graysville’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Alabama towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
AdamsvilleD3 mi4.743.6
BrooksideC−3 mi4.219.6
GardendaleC8 mi2.318.0
FultondaleC−8 mi3.024.2
Pleasant GroveB−10 mi1.712.9
SumitonD10 mi2.336.9

Straight-line distance from the center of Graysville. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Graysville.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Graysville’s roads in 2019–2023

Graysville had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died. Most of these deaths (1 of 2) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.

That is about what is typical for Alabama towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (11.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Graysville’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Graysville’s own rate (15.9) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
15.9
per 100,000 a year · Alabama towns of 2,500–5,000: 11.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Graysville and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
AdamsvilleD4.743.6
BrooksideC−4.219.6

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Graysville. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Graysville’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,840 in 2025); our figure for Graysville is 1,855 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Graysville

Is Graysville, AL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Graysville. The nearest Alabama towns with a grade are Adamsville (D, 3 mi), Brookside (C−, 3 mi), Gardendale (C, 8 mi).

Who polices Graysville?

Graysville’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Graysville”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Graysville feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Graysville.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.