Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Graysville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Graysville Public Library

Graysville’s library logs 6.9 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size

Graysville Public Library serves Graysville’s 1,885 residents. Last year it lent 10K books, movies and e-books and logged 13K visits.

315 South Main Street, Graysville 35073 · about 40 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 10% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
10K
5.4 per resident
Visits a year
13K
6.9 per resident · Above typical (3.5)
Programs & events
4
about 1 a week · 260 attended
Cardholders
53%
997 cards
Open
40 hrs
a week
In brief

Graysville’s library, in brief

Few programs for a library this size

Graysville Public Library offered 4 programs last year, 2.1 per 1,000 residents against a typical 60. Kids & programs ↓

A small-town library

Graysville Public Library serves 1,885 residents with about 2 full-time staff, open about 40 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Graysville’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Graysville is ahead of 10% of U.S. towns. Graysville is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Graysville’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 10%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $53K–$88K (9,030)Ahead of 10%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($53K–$88K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Graysville is small (1,855 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

4 community nonprofits are registered in Graysville

1.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans31.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services00.04 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.40 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.2%

6.2% of Graysville’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 4.8% in the typical Alabama town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Graysville’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 3 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 6.9 visits · typical 3.5Higher than 79%
Borrowing per resident 3.9 print items · typical 3.9Higher than 51%
Digital borrowing 1.4 e-items · typical 1Higher than 61%
Kids’ borrowing 0.7 kids’ items · typical 1.4Lower than 67%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.7Lower than 85%
Programs offered 2.1 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Bottom 10%
Cardholders 53% of residents · typical 54%Lower than 51%
Spending $39 per resident · typical $54Lower than 69%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Graysville Public Library serves 1,885 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 5 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

13K
visits
6.9 per resident
10K
loans, print + digital
5.4 per resident
4
programs & events
260 attended
997
library cards
53% of people served
Every open hour5items borrowed
Every week5people at a program
Every week250visits
2 staff (full-time equivalent)4 public computers20K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: funding. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

10K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

10Kloans
Books & media (adults) 60%Kids’ books & media 14%E-books, audio & streaming 26%
How hard the shelves work
0.4×

Each of the 20K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.4 time last year, on average.

From your couch

2,644 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

4 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Graysville →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–54
Ages 6–110
Teens0
Adults0
All ages0
Little ones
0.1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
3

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Graysville last year.

260
people at programs
4
programs
The building

Find it

Graysville Public Library, 315 South Main Street, Graysville.

40
hours open a week
4,800
square feet
20K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Graysville? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.18 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Graysville cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$39 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $74K.

Last year the library lent and hosted about $162K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $74K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 997 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
GraysvilleGraysville Public Library5.440D
AdamsvilleAdamsville Public Library1.740C−
BrooksideNone of its own——D

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: funding. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Graysville

Does Graysville have a public library?

Yes. Graysville Public Library, 315 South Main Street, serves Graysville’s 1,885 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 40 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Graysville Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Graysville’s library?

It logged 6.9 visits and lent 5.4 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Graysville’s civic life grade?

D Graysville is ahead of 10% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Graysville.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.