West Liberty Presbyterian Church · Photo: Nyttend · Public domainPolicing and crime in West Liberty, WV
West Liberty’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Widen the search to 25 miles and 4 graded towns turn up. The nearest town with a Safety Grade is Wheeling, 8 miles away, graded D.
For every 1,000 residents, about 1 property crime reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And no violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years West Liberty’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | West Liberty | Rest of West Virginia | West Liberty | Rest of West Virginia |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | not reported | 28.3 | not reported | 5.2 |
| 2023 | not reported | 25.6 | not reported | 4.7 |
| 2024 | not reported | 24.3 | not reported | 3.9 |
| 2025 | 0.7 | 23.5 | 0.0 | 3.6 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of West Virginia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
1 crime reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
0 violent and 1 property, as reported to the FBI by West Liberty’s police.
The nearest West Virginia towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wheeling | D | 8 mi | 9.3 | 18.8 |
| Follansbee | B+ | 12 mi | 0.4 | 8.9 |
| Glen Dale | B | 17 mi | 1.2 | 9.0 |
| Moundsville | C | 18 mi | 2.4 | 20.1 |
| Westover | C− | 49 mi | 1.9 | 25.3 |
| Morgantown | C | 50 mi | 2.6 | 19.5 |
Straight-line distance from the center of West Liberty. Nearby towns can differ a lot from West Liberty.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
No one died in a crash on West Liberty’s roads in 2019–2023
That is about what is typical for West Virginia towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of West Liberty’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so West Liberty’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
West Liberty and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of West Liberty. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against West Liberty’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,430 in 2025); our figure for West Liberty is 1,429 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in West Liberty
Is West Liberty, WV safe?
There is no Safety Grade for West Liberty. The nearest West Virginia towns with a grade are Wheeling (D, 8 mi), Follansbee (B+, 12 mi), Glen Dale (B, 17 mi).
Who polices West Liberty?
West Liberty’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “West Liberty”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in West Liberty.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.