Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Hurricane

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Asbury HouseAsbury House · Photo: Roger B. Wise · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Hurricane · Not graded

Crime reported in Hurricane, WV

Hurricane’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
88
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
11 mi
St. Albans (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 13 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (13)Violent crime (0.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Hurricane0.6
Rest of WV3.9
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Hurricane13.0
Rest of WV24.5
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Hurricane’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of West Virginia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearHurricaneRest of West VirginiaHurricaneRest of West Virginia
2022not reported28.3not reported5.2
2023not reported25.6not reported4.7
202413.024.50.63.9
2025not reported23.4not reported3.6

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

92 crimes reported in 2024

4 violent and 88 property, as reported to the FBI by Hurricane’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft83
Burglary5
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape3
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
88
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest West Virginia towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
St. AlbansC11 mi2.222.6
NitroD11 mi1.842.5
BarboursvilleC15 mi0.928.0
DunbarC−16 mi3.818.4
South CharlestonD−18 mi5.051.8
CharlestonD22 mi5.734.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Hurricane. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Hurricane.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Hurricane’s roads in 2019–2023

Hurricane had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died. Most of these deaths (3 of 5) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.

That is about what is typical for West Virginia towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (10.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Hurricane’s size would see about 4 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Hurricane’s own rate (14.6) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
14.6
per 100,000 a year · West Virginia towns of 5,000–25,000: 10.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Hurricane and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Teays Valley———
Culloden———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Teays Valley and Culloden are unincorporated communities (census-designated places) with no police department of their own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Hurricane. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Hurricane’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (6,755 in 2024); our figure for Hurricane is 7,367 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Hurricane

Is Hurricane, WV safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Hurricane. Hurricane’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest West Virginia towns with a grade are St. Albans (C, 11 mi), Nitro (D, 11 mi), Barboursville (C, 15 mi).

Who polices Hurricane?

Hurricane’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Hurricane”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Hurricane.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Hurricane feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.