Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Richland Center

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
A. D. German Wholesale Company and Warehouse, Additional DocumentationA. D. German Wholesale Company and Warehouse, Additional Documentation · Photo: Lowell Boileau · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Richland Center · Not graded

Richland Center goes ungraded: its recorded crime

The nearest town with a Safety Grade is Muscoda, 11 miles away, graded B+. Widen the search to 25 miles and 2 graded towns turn up. Richland Center’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
6
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
37
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
11 mi
Muscoda (B+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 8 property crimes reported

Property crime (7.6)Violent crime (1.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Richland Center1.2
Rest of WI3.9
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Richland Center7.6
Rest of WI16.0
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Richland Center’s police reported

Show as a table
YearRichland CenterRest of WisconsinRichland CenterRest of Wisconsin
202210.818.21.04.0
20237.616.01.23.9
2024not reported15.4not reported3.8
2025not reported13.5not reported3.2

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Wisconsin. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

43 crimes reported in 2023

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft34
Burglary3
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault4
Robbery0
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson0
6
violent crimes
37
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

6 violent and 37 property, as reported to the FBI by Richland Center’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Wisconsin towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
MuscodaB+11 mi1.18.7
ReedsburgC+24 mi1.216.5
FennimoreA28 mi1.30.7
DodgevilleC+29 mi1.317.7
ViroquaB−29 mi1.713.2
Mineral PointA−34 mi0.56.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Richland Center. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Richland Center.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Richland Center’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Wisconsin towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (3.5 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Richland Center’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Richland Center’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Wisconsin towns of 5,000–25,000: 3.5

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Richland Center and its neighbors

Richland: not gradedRichlandRichland Center
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Richland———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Richland has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Richland Center. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Richland Center’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (4,884 in 2023); our figure for Richland Center is 5,020 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Richland Center

Is Richland Center, WI safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Richland Center. The nearest Wisconsin towns with a grade are Muscoda (B+, 11 mi), Reedsburg (C+, 24 mi), Fennimore (A, 28 mi).

Who polices Richland Center?

Richland Center’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Richland Center”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Richland Center feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Richland Center.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.