Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Leon

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
LeonWausharaCountyWisconsinTownHallPineRiverPhoto: Royalbroil · CC BY-SA 3.0
Leon-Saxeville Township Library

Leon’s library lends 4.4 print items per resident, against a typical 3.8 for libraries its size

Leon-Saxeville Township Library serves 2,889 people in and around Leon. Last year it lent 13K print books and media and drew 1,616 people to its programs.

N4715 County Rd. E, Pine River 54965 · about 32 hours a week
CCivic lifeAhead of 28% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
13K
4.4 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
110
about 2 a week · 1,616 attended
Cardholders
14%
394 cards
Open
32 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Leon-Saxeville Township Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Leon’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Leon is ahead of 28% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Leon is graded on two of the three inputs. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; Leon’s count of community nonprofits pulls it down.

C
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Leon’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 28%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $51K–$85K (8,843)Ahead of 26%

The survey’s stand-in for Leon’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($51K–$85K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Leon is small (1,569 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Leon has few registered community nonprofits

0.9 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation00.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans00.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other00.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (0 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

8.9%

8.9% of Leon’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.6% in the typical Wisconsin town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Leon’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 4.4 print items · typical 3.8Higher than 57%
Kids’ borrowing 1.9 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 56%
Program attendance 0.6 attendees · typical 0.5Higher than 54%
Programs offered 38.1 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Higher than 55%
Cardholders 14% of residents · typical 42%Bottom 10%
Spending $28 per resident · typical $43Lower than 73%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Leon-Saxeville Township Library serves 2,889 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 8 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Leon-Saxeville Township Library system. The library’s own count.

13K
loans, print + digital
4.4 per resident
110
programs & events
1,616 attended
394
library cards
14% of people served
Every open hour8items borrowed
Every week31people at a program
Every day17Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)2 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

13K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

13Kloans
Books & media (adults) 58%Kids’ books & media 42%
From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

110 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Leon →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–540
Ages 6–1111
Teens1
Adults25
All ages33
Little ones
0.8

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

5,359
kids’ books & media borrowed
1,616
people at programs
110
programs
The building

Find it

Leon-Saxeville Township Library, N4715 County Rd. E, Pine River.

32
hours open a week
2,572
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Leon-Saxeville Township Library branch.

New in Leon? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.80 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Leon cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
2
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
1
Your card saves you about
$588
a year at retail prices · $49 a month

Who pays for it
$28 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $80K.

Local taxes 89%State 0%Gifts & other 11%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $225K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $80K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 394 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
RedgraniteRedgranite Public Library5.844B+
Poy SippiPoy Sippi Public Library fine-free3.922— under 1,000 residents
LeonLeon-Saxeville Township Library fine-free—32C
Pine RiverLeon-Saxeville Township Library fine-free—32— under 1,000 residents
SaxevilleNone of its own——A
WarrenNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
BloomfieldNone of its own——B+
Mount MorrisNone of its own——B+

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Leon-Saxeville Township Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. Leon-Saxeville Township Library serves 2,889 people in and around Leon, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Leon.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Leon

Does Leon have a public library?

Yes. Leon-Saxeville Township Library, N4715 County Rd. E, serves 2,889 people in and around Leon (the survey’s count) and is open about 32 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Leon-Saxeville Township Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Leon’s library?

It lent 4.4 items per resident in 2024 (print) and ran 110 programs that drew 1,616 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Leon’s civic life grade?

C Leon is ahead of 28% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Leon.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.