Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Hortonville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Hortonville Community HallHortonville Community Hall · Photo: Royalbroil · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Hortonville · Not graded

Hortonville goes ungraded: its recorded crime

Hortonville’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The closest graded town is New London, 7 miles away, at A. Drive 10 miles in any direction and you reach 2 towns with grades of their own.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
6
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
7 mi
New London (A)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 2 property crimes reported

Property crime (1.7)Violent crime (0.3)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Hortonville0.3
Rest of WI3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Hortonville1.7
Rest of WI15.5
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And fewer than 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Hortonville’s police reported

Show as a table
YearHortonvilleRest of WisconsinHortonvilleRest of Wisconsin
20225.118.20.64.0
20231.116.00.63.9
20241.715.50.33.8
2025not reported13.5not reported3.2

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Wisconsin. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

7 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft5
Burglary0
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
6
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

1 violent and 6 property, as reported to the FBI by Hortonville’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Wisconsin towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
New LondonA7 mi0.43.9
Grand ChuteD10 mi2.341.2
Fox CrossingA−11 mi0.86.7
AppletonC+13 mi2.212.3
MenashaB13 mi1.87.5
NeenahB−14 mi1.610.8

Straight-line distance from the center of Hortonville. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Hortonville.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Hortonville’s roads in 2019–2023

Hortonville had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Wisconsin towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Hortonville’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Hortonville’s own rate (6.1) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
6.1
per 100,000 a year · Wisconsin towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Hortonville and its neighbors

Hortonia: not gradedEllington: not gradedHortoniaEllingtonHortonville
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Hortonia———
Ellington———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Hortonia and Ellington have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Hortonville. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Hortonville’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (3,481 in 2024); our figure for Hortonville is 3,340 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Hortonville

Is Hortonville, WI safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Hortonville. The nearest Wisconsin towns with a grade are New London (A, 7 mi), Grand Chute (D, 10 mi), Fox Crossing (A−, 11 mi).

Who polices Hortonville?

Hortonville’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Hortonville”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Hortonville feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Hortonville.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.