Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Cashton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Albert and Theresa Marx HouseAlbert and Theresa Marx House · Photo: Jeff the quiet · CC0
Cashton Memorial Library

Cashton’s library runs 43 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 34 for libraries its size

Cashton Memorial Library serves Cashton’s 3,532 residents. Last year it lent 15K print books and media and drew 1,409 people to its programs.

720 Broadway St., Cashton 54619 · about 32 hours a week
B−Civic lifeAhead of 46% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
15K
4.2 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
151
about 3 a week · 1,409 attended
Cardholders
20%
689 cards
Open
32 hrs
a week

What stands out about Cashton’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Cashton’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Cashton is ahead of 46% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Cashton is graded on two of the three inputs. Cashton’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

B−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Cashton’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 46%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $53K–$88K (9,016)Ahead of 43%

The survey’s stand-in for Cashton’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Cashton is small (1,174 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

6 community nonprofits are registered in Cashton

4.5 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.23 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation10.70 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans21.56 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services10.70 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education10.47 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.70 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.23 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.5%

6.5% of Cashton’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.6% in the typical Wisconsin town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Cashton’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 3 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 4.2 print items · typical 3.8Higher than 54%
Kids’ borrowing 2.6 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 71%
Program attendance 0.4 attendees · typical 0.5Lower than 58%
Programs offered 42.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Higher than 60%
Cardholders 20% of residents · typical 42%Lower than 86%
Spending $26 per resident · typical $43Lower than 77%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Cashton Memorial Library serves 3,532 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 9 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

15K
loans, print + digital
4.2 per resident
151
programs & events
1,409 attended
689
library cards
20% of people served
Every open hour9items borrowed
Every week27people at a program
Every day15Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)2 public computers6,375 books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

15K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

15Kloans
Books & media (adults) 39%Kids’ books & media 61%
How hard the shelves work
2.3×

Each of the 6,375 books and other items on the shelves went out about 2.3 times last year, on average.

From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 1 kids’ program a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Cashton →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–556
Ages 6–1111
Teens4
Adults21
All ages59
Little ones
1.1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
24

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Cashton last year.

1,409
people at programs
151
programs
The building

Find it

Cashton Memorial Library, 720 Broadway St., Cashton.

32
hours open a week
2,184
square feet
6,375
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Cashton? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.61 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Cashton cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
1
Your card saves you about
$384
a year at retail prices · $32 a month

Who pays for it
$26 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $91K.

Local taxes 83%Gifts & other 17%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $238K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $91K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 689 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
CashtonCashton Memorial Library4.232B−
PortlandNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
JeffersonNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Cashton Memorial Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Cashton

Does Cashton have a public library?

Yes. Cashton Memorial Library, 720 Broadway St., serves Cashton’s 3,532 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 32 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Cashton Memorial Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Cashton’s library?

It lent 4.2 items per resident in 2024 (print) and ran 151 programs that drew 1,409 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Cashton’s civic life grade?

B− Cashton is ahead of 46% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Cashton.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.