Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Cottage Lake

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Cottage Lake (Washington) 2026 - 03Photo: Photo by Joe Mabel · CC BY-SA 4.0
Woodinville Library · part of King County Library System

Cottage Lake’s library is a branch of King County Library System, which lends more per resident than 85% of systems its size

Cottage Lake’s library is the Woodinville Library, a branch of King County Library System, which serves 1,607,650 people and lent 22M items last year.

17105 Avondale Road NE, Woodinville 98072 · about 47 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: unincorporated places have too few inputs
Borrowed a year
22M
14 per resident
Visits a year
5.4M
3.4 per resident · Above typical (2.1)
Programs & events
17,209
about 331 a week · 360K attended
Cardholders
42%
676,531 cards
Open
47 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

The short version on Cottage Lake’s library

More than half the print loans are for kids

Children’s books and media are 70% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 92% of similar-size libraries. Kids & programs ↓

49% of borrowing happens on a screen

E-books, e-audiobooks and streaming make up 49% of loans, more per resident than at 98% of similar-size libraries. Print still makes up 51%, much of it kids’ books. What people borrow ↓

A well-funded system

The King County Library System spends $90 per resident a year, about twice the typical $36 for a library its size. Almost all of it (92%) comes from local taxes. What your card is worth ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Cottage Lake’s library is a branch of King County Library System, so they cover the whole system (1,607,650 people), not just the Cottage Lake branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Cottage Lake’s civic life grade

Cottage Lake isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of King County Library System, so there is no town figure for visits.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Cottage Lake’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

Volunteering in Cottage Lake

Cottage Lake is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.

Volunteering

8.5%

8.5% of Cottage Lake’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.7% in the typical Washington town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Cottage Lake’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · What people borrow

49% of borrowing is digital

22M loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

22Mloans
Books & media (adults) 15%Kids’ books & media 36%E-books, audio & streaming 49%
From your couch

10,919,747 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on all 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 3.4 visits · typical 2.1Higher than 83%
Borrowing per resident 7.2 print items · typical 3.2Higher than 85%
Digital borrowing 6.8 e-items · typical 1.4Top 10%
Kids’ borrowing 5 kids’ items · typical 1.6Top 10%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.2Higher than 54%
Programs offered 10.7 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 56%
Cardholders 42% of residents · typical 41%Higher than 51%
Spending $90 per resident · typical $36Top 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

King County Library System serves 1,607,650 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at King County Library System

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole King County Library System system. The library’s own count.

5.4M
visits
3.4 per resident
22M
loans, print + digital
14 per resident
17K
programs & events
360K attended
677K
library cards
42% of people served
Every week6,918people at a program
Every week103,694visits
807 staff (full-time equivalent)1,249 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

About 178 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Cottage Lake →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–55,709
Ages 6–113,539
Teens1,417
Adults5,014
All ages1,530
Little ones
109.8

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

8.1M
kids’ books & media borrowed
360K
people at programs
17,209
programs
The building

Find it

Woodinville Library, 17105 Avondale Road NE, Woodinville.

47
hours open a week
15,000
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every King County Library System branch.

New in Cottage Lake? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.23 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Cottage Lake cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
1
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$528
a year at retail prices · $44 a month

Who pays for it
$90 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $145M.

Local taxes 92%State 0%Federal 0%Gifts & other 8%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $323M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $145M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 676,531 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Cottage LakeWoodinville Library fine-free—47— unincorporated
Union Hill-Novelty HillLibrary Express @ Redmond Ridge fine-free—47— unincorporated
RedmondRedmond Library fine-free—47C
WoodinvilleNone of its own——A−
MaltbyNone of its own——— unincorporated
High BridgeNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Woodinville Library is one branch of King County Library System, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 1,607,650 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Cottage Lake

Does Cottage Lake have a public library?

Yes: Woodinville Library, 17105 Avondale Road NE, is a branch of King County Library System, which serves 1,607,650 people. The branch is open about 47 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is King County Library System fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Cottage Lake’s library?

It logged 3.4 visits and lent 14.0 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Cottage Lake’s civic life grade?

Cottage Lake isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library is a branch of King County Library System, so there is no town figure for visits. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Cottage Lake.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.