Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Washington

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Calef library washington vtPhoto: No machine-readable author provided. Jessamyn assumed (based on copyright claims). · Public domain
Calef Memorial

Calef Memorial serves Washington’s 1,059 residents

Calef Memorial serves Washington’s 1,059 residents.

2964 Vt Rte. 110, Washington 05675 · about 24 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than two of the three inputs
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Open
24 hrs
a week
Civic life grade

What’s behind Washington’s civic life grade

Washington isn’t graded on civic life: its library’s visits weren’t reported for 2024 and the volunteering estimate doesn’t cover enough of it.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Washington’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

8 community nonprofits are registered in Washington

7.4 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.09 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation21.99 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans43.98 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services00.09 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education10.95 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (0 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

A year at the library

A year at Calef Memorial

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Calef Memorial, 2964 Vt Rte. 110, Washington.

24
hours open a week
966
square feet
With a card

Ask at the desk about getting a card.

New in Washington? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Washington resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 1,059 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
WashingtonCalef Memorial—24— too few inputs
CorinthBlake Memorial fine-free—18C+
ChelseaChelsea Public——A−
WilliamstownAinsworth Public——C
OrangeNone of its own——D

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Calef Memorial didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2023 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Washington

Does Washington have a public library?

Yes. Calef Memorial, 2964 Vt Rte. 110, serves Washington’s 1,059 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 24 hours a week, averaged over the year.

How busy is Washington’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Washington’s civic life grade?

Washington isn’t graded on civic life: its library’s visits weren’t reported for 2024 and the volunteering estimate doesn’t cover enough of it. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Washington.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.