Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Salem

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Salem VA downtownPhoto: Mojo Hand · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Salem · Not graded

Crime reported in Salem, VA

Salem’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
40
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
309
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
5 mi
Roanoke (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 12 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (11.8)Violent crime (1.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Salem1.5
Rest of VA3.2
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Salem11.8
Rest of VA20.3
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Salem’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Virginia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearSalemRest of VirginiaSalemRest of Virginia
202217.325.31.33.5
202318.624.50.93.6
2024not reported23.3not reported3.3
202511.820.31.53.2

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

349 crimes reported in 2025

40 violent and 309 property, as reported to the FBI by Salem’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft272
Burglary18
Vehicle theft19
Aggravated assault35
Robbery2
Rape3
Homicide0
Arson1
40
violent crimes
309
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Virginia towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
RoanokeD5 mi5.838.2
VintonC9 mi2.019.1
BlacksburgA−21 mi0.86.5
Rocky MountD22 mi1.142.0
ChristiansburgC22 mi1.823.1
BedfordC+30 mi2.116.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Salem. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Salem.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Salem’s roads in 2019–2023

Salem had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died. 2 died in crashes on an Interstate.

That is about what is typical for Virginia towns of 25,000–100,000 people: at their median rate (3.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Salem’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Salem’s own rate (3.9) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
3.9
per 100,000 a year · Virginia towns of 25,000–100,000: 3.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Salem and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
RoanokeD5.838.2
Cave Spring———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Cave Spring is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Salem. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Salem’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (26,107 in 2025); our figure for Salem is 25,816 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Salem

Is Salem, VA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Salem. Salem’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Virginia towns with a grade are Roanoke (D, 5 mi), Vinton (C, 9 mi), Blacksburg (A−, 21 mi).

Who polices Salem?

Salem’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Salem”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Salem.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Salem feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.