Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Salem

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Salem VA downtownPhoto: Mojo Hand · CC BY-SA 3.0
Salem Public Library

Salem’s library lends 5.4 print items per resident, against a typical 3.7 for libraries its size

Salem Public Library serves Salem’s 25,060 residents. Last year it lent 174K books, movies and e-books and logged 71K visits.

28 E. Main St., Salem 24153 · about 54 hours a week
B−Civic lifeAhead of 52% of U.S. towns · #50 of 88 in Virginia. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
174K
6.9 per resident
Visits a year
71K
2.9 per resident · Above typical (2.6)
Programs & events
235
about 5 a week · 4,248 attended
Open
54 hrs
a week

What stands out about Salem’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Salem’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Salem is ahead of 52% of U.S. towns, #50 of 88 in Virginia. Salem’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; library visits pull it down.

B−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Salem’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 52%
FewerMore
Virginia towns we grade (88)Ahead of 44%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $50K–$83K (8,737)Ahead of 48%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from C+ to B. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

132 community nonprofits are registered in Salem

5.2 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture100.39 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation180.70 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans261.01 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services190.74 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education150.59 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health50.20 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals80.31 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other311.21 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (47 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 2 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

7.0%

7.0% of Salem’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.9% in the typical Virginia town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Salem’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 5 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2.9 visits · typical 2.6Higher than 56%
Borrowing per resident 5.4 print items · typical 3.7Higher than 66%
Digital borrowing 1.5 e-items · typical 1.2Higher than 60%
Kids’ borrowing 2.2 kids’ items · typical 1.7Higher than 61%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.3Lower than 78%
Programs offered 9.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Lower than 72%
Spending $58 per resident · typical $40Higher than 70%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in VA#13Most-used librariesof 24 towns
#10Most library borrowingof 24 towns
#10Best libraries for kidsof 24 towns
Size group

Salem Public Library serves 25,060 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 62 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

71K
visits
2.9 per resident
174K
loans, print + digital
6.9 per resident
235
programs & events
4,248 attended
Every open hour62items borrowed
Every week82people at a program
Every week1,374visits
16 staff (full-time equivalent)8 public computers67K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

174K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

174Kloans
Books & media (adults) 47%Kids’ books & media 32%E-books, audio & streaming 22%
How hard the shelves work
2×

Each of the 67K books and other items on the shelves went out about 2 times last year, on average.

From your couch

37,679 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 3 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Salem →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–562
Ages 6–1186
Teens17
Adults59
All ages11
Little ones
1.2

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
11

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Salem last year.

4,248
people at programs
235
programs
The building

Find it

Salem Public Library, 28 E. Main St., Salem.

54
hours open a week
16,000
square feet
67K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Salem? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.82 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Salem resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$58 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $1.5M.

Local taxes 84%State 16%Federal 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $2.6M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1.5M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 25,060 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
SalemSalem Public Library fine-free6.954B−
RoanokeRoanoke City Public Library fine-free2.552B
GlenvarGlenvar Branch Library fine-free—54— under 1,000 residents
Cave SpringSouth County Library fine-free—54— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Salem

Does Salem have a public library?

Yes. Salem Public Library, 28 E. Main St., serves Salem’s 25,060 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 54 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Salem Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Salem’s library?

It logged 2.9 visits and lent 6.9 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Salem’s civic life grade?

B− Salem is ahead of 52% of U.S. towns on civic life, #50 of 88 in Virginia. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Salem.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.