Town of Halifax Court House Historic District · Photo: Doug Kerr from Albany, NY, United States · CC BY-SA 2.0Crime reported in Halifax, VA
Halifax’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 8 property crimes reported
And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
The years Halifax’s police reported
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Virginia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
Show as a table
| Year | Halifax | Rest of Virginia | Halifax | Rest of Virginia |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 12.8 | 25.2 | 3.6 | 3.5 |
| 2023 | 14.6 | 24.4 | 1.8 | 3.5 |
| 2024 | not reported | 23.3 | not reported | 3.3 |
| 2025 | 8.3 | 20.2 | 0.9 | 3.2 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
10 crimes reported in 2025
1 violent and 9 property, as reported to the FBI by Halifax’s police.
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
The nearest Virginia towns with a Safety Grade
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Boston | C− | 3 mi | 4.5 | 22.2 |
| Brookneal | A− | 20 mi | 0.6 | 7.5 |
| Clarksville | B+ | 22 mi | 1.0 | 6.1 |
| Chase City | C | 26 mi | 3.6 | 14.9 |
| Danville | D | 29 mi | 3.4 | 28.4 |
| Altavista | C− | 32 mi | 2.4 | 31.6 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Halifax. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Halifax.
One person died in crashes on Halifax’s roads in 2019–2023
Halifax had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died; 1 was a pedestrian.
That is about what is typical for Virginia towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (4.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Halifax’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Halifax’s own rate (13.4) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Halifax and its neighbors
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mountain Road | — | — | — |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Mountain Road is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Halifax. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Halifax’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,085 in 2025); our figure for Halifax is 1,092 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Halifax
Is Halifax, VA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Halifax. Halifax’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Virginia towns with a grade are South Boston (C−, 3 mi), Brookneal (A−, 20 mi), Clarksville (B+, 22 mi).
Who polices Halifax?
Halifax’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Halifax”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Neighbors looking out for each other in Halifax.
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.