Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Clinton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Clinton Utah City HallPhoto: Ntsimp · Public domain
Safety in Clinton · Not graded

What the figures say about crime in Clinton, UT

The closest graded town is Sunset, 2 miles away, at B−. Clinton’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Count 9 graded towns in the 10 miles around.

Violent crimes
14
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
151
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
2 mi
Sunset (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 6 property crimes reported

Property crime (6.3)Violent crime (0.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Clinton0.6
Rest of UT2.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Clinton6.3
Rest of UT14.3
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Clinton’s police reported

Show as a table
YearClintonRest of UtahClintonRest of Utah
202212.120.71.02.7
2023not reported18.2not reported2.5
20247.716.00.92.6
20256.314.30.62.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Utah. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

165 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft124
Burglary20
Vehicle theft7
Aggravated assault14
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson1
14
violent crimes
151
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

14 violent and 151 property, as reported to the FBI by Clinton’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Utah towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
SunsetB−2 mi2.39.4
RoyB2 mi1.98.6
SyracuseA−4 mi0.74.7
ClearfieldC+4 mi2.511.1
RiverdaleD4 mi3.343.4
South OgdenB−6 mi2.110.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Clinton. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Clinton.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Clinton’s roads in 2019–2023

Clinton had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died; 1 was a pedestrian.

That is fewer than is typical for Utah towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (4.3 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Clinton’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Clinton’s own rate (0.8) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
0.8
per 100,000 a year · Utah towns of 5,000–25,000: 4.3

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Clinton and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
West Point———
ClearfieldC+2.511.1
SunsetB−2.39.4
RoyB1.98.6

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. West Point has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Clinton. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Clinton’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (23,795 in 2025); our figure for Clinton is 23,797 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Clinton

Is Clinton, UT safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Clinton. The nearest Utah towns with a grade are Sunset (B−, 2 mi), Roy (B, 2 mi), Syracuse (A−, 4 mi).

Who polices Clinton?

Clinton’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Clinton”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Clinton feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Clinton.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.