Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Bountiful

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Bountiful Historic DistrictBountiful Historic District · Photo: Ntsimp · Public domain
Safety in Bountiful · Not graded

Crime reported in Bountiful, UT

Bountiful has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
50
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
540
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
3 mi
Woods Cross (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 12 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (12)Violent crime (1.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Bountiful1.1
Rest of UT2.7
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Bountiful12.0
Rest of UT20.8
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Bountiful’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Utah. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearBountifulRest of UtahBountifulRest of Utah
202212.020.81.12.7
2023not reported18.2not reported2.5
2024not reported15.9not reported2.6
2025not reported14.2not reported2.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

590 crimes reported in 2022

50 violent and 540 property, as reported to the FBI by Bountiful’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft448
Burglary43
Vehicle theft49
Aggravated assault25
Robbery2
Rape23
Homicide0
Arson1
50
violent crimes
540
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Utah towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Woods CrossB−3 mi1.413.9
West BountifulB−3 mi1.315.3
North Salt LakeB3 mi0.810.0
CentervilleB4 mi1.012.4
Salt Lake CityD−8 mi8.651.8
FarmingtonB+8 mi0.610.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Bountiful. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Bountiful.

On the roads

Four people died in crashes on Bountiful’s roads in 2019–2023

Bountiful had 4 fatal crashes in five years, in which four people died; 1 was a cyclist.

That is about what is typical for Utah towns of 25,000–100,000 people: at their median rate (3.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Bountiful’s size would see about 9 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Bountiful’s own rate (1.8) is context, not a ranking.

4
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
1
cyclist among them
1.8
per 100,000 a year · Utah towns of 25,000–100,000: 3.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Bountiful and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
North Salt LakeB0.810.0
CentervilleB1.012.4
West BountifulB−1.315.3
Woods CrossB−1.413.9

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Bountiful. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Bountiful’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (45,098 in 2022); our figure for Bountiful is 44,988 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Bountiful

Is Bountiful, UT safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Bountiful. Bountiful has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Utah towns with a grade are Woods Cross (B−, 3 mi), West Bountiful (B−, 3 mi), North Salt Lake (B, 3 mi).

Who polices Bountiful?

Bountiful’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Bountiful”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Bountiful.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Bountiful feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.