Huntington’s library lends 9.2 print items per resident, against a typical 3.8 for libraries its size
Mcmullen Memorial Library serves 8,488 people in and around Huntington. Last year it lent 78K books, movies and e-books and drew 659 people to its programs.
What Huntington’s library is like
Busy on a lean budget
Mcmullen Memorial Library spends $25 per resident, less than 78% of similar-size libraries (typical: $43). It’s still borrowed from more than 89% of them. What your card is worth ↓
Few programs for a library this size
Mcmullen Memorial Library offered 19 programs last year, 2.2 per 1,000 residents against a typical 34. Kids & programs ↓
More library cards than residents
8,500 cards for 8,488 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving 2,500 to 10,000 people, it’s 42%. How it compares ↓
Kids’ borrowing is a standout
Children’s books and media are 46% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 87% of similar-size libraries. Kids & programs ↓
Almost all the borrowing is off the shelf
Only 0% of loans are e-books, audiobooks or streaming, fewer per resident than at 99% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Mcmullen Memorial Library serves 8,488 people in and around Huntington, and its numbers cover all of them.
What’s behind Huntington’s civic life grade
On community nonprofits and volunteering, Huntington is ahead of 51% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Huntington is graded on two of the three inputs. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; Huntington’s count of community nonprofits pulls it down.
The survey’s stand-in for Huntington’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
3 community nonprofits are registered in Huntington
0.8 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: education.
Community nonprofits, by kind
Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.
16.1%
16.1% of Huntington’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.7% in the typical Texas town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Huntington’s residents live; 2022.
Almost half the print loans are kids’ books
78K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 3 of 7 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.
Mcmullen Memorial Library serves 8,488 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.
Every hour the doors are open, about 31 items go out
Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Mcmullen Memorial Library system. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
19 programs a year
Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
Find it
Mcmullen Memorial Library, 900 N Main St., Huntington.















Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $5.44 worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Huntington cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $213K.
Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.2M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $213K budget.
Late fines apply to some overdue items.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 8,500 cardholders ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. Mcmullen Memorial Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
- System-wide. Mcmullen Memorial Library serves 8,488 people in and around Huntington, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Huntington.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Huntington
Does Huntington have a public library?
Yes. Mcmullen Memorial Library, 900 N Main St., serves 8,488 people in and around Huntington (the survey’s count) and is open about 48 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Mcmullen Memorial Library fine-free?
It charges late fines on some overdue items (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Huntington’s library?
It lent 9.2 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 19 programs that drew 659 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Huntington’s civic life grade?
B− Huntington is ahead of 51% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Huntington.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.