Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Crosbyton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Crosbyton01 courthousePhoto: Lothar1976 · Public domain
Safety in Crosbyton · Not graded

Crosbyton goes ungraded: its recorded crime

Crosbyton’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest town with a Safety Grade is Floydada, 24 miles away, graded C+.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
9
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
24 mi
Floydada (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 6 property crimes reported

Property crime (6.2)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Crosbyton0.0
Rest of TX3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Crosbyton6.2
Rest of TX20.6
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And no violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Crosbyton’s police reported

Show as a table
YearCrosbytonRest of TexasCrosbytonRest of Texas
2022not reported27.3not reported5.1
2023not reported26.3not reported4.7
20249.923.97.84.4
20256.220.60.03.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Texas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

9 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft4
Burglary5
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
9
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

0 violent and 9 property, as reported to the FBI by Crosbyton’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Texas towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
FloydadaC+24 mi3.610.0
IdalouB+26 mi1.84.9
SlatonC−27 mi5.813.6
AbernathyA37 mi1.11.4
LubbockD38 mi7.827.0
ShallowaterB43 mi2.53.5

Straight-line distance from the center of Crosbyton. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Crosbyton.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Crosbyton’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Texas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Crosbyton’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Crosbyton’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Texas towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Crosbyton and its neighbors

Crosbyton
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Crosbyton. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Crosbyton’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,462 in 2025); our figure for Crosbyton is 1,407 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Crosbyton

Is Crosbyton, TX safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Crosbyton. The nearest Texas towns with a grade are Floydada (C+, 24 mi), Idalou (B+, 26 mi), Slaton (C−, 27 mi).

Who polices Crosbyton?

Crosbyton’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Crosbyton”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Crosbyton feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Crosbyton.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.