Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Charlotte

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Charlotte Trojans, Charlotte, TX IMG 2516Photo: Billy Hathorn · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Charlotte · Not graded

Crime in Charlotte: the figures, without a grade

Charlotte’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. For a graded neighbor, the nearest is Pleasanton (C+), 14 miles away. Out to 25 miles, the count of graded towns reaches 5.

Violent crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
16
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
14 mi
Pleasanton (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 10 property crimes reported

Property crime (10)Violent crime (1.3)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Charlotte1.3
Rest of TX4.7
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Charlotte10.0
Rest of TX26.3
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Charlotte’s police reported

Show as a table
YearCharlotteRest of TexasCharlotteRest of Texas
2022not reported27.3not reported5.1
202310.026.31.34.7
2024not reported23.9not reported4.4
2025not reported20.6not reported3.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Texas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

18 crimes reported in 2023

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft10
Burglary6
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault2
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
2
violent crimes
16
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

2 violent and 16 property, as reported to the FBI by Charlotte’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Texas towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
PleasantonC+14 mi1.518.2
PoteetB−15 mi0.315.4
DevineC+23 mi1.615.3
PearsallB−24 mi2.28.3
NataliaB24 mi2.44.8
SomersetA−26 mi1.34.9

Straight-line distance from the center of Charlotte. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Charlotte.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Charlotte’s roads in 2019–2023

Charlotte had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Texas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Charlotte’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Charlotte’s own rate (13.6) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
13.6
per 100,000 a year · Texas towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Charlotte and its neighbors

Charlotte
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Charlotte. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Charlotte’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,597 in 2023); our figure for Charlotte is 1,653 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Charlotte

Is Charlotte, TX safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Charlotte. The nearest Texas towns with a grade are Pleasanton (C+, 14 mi), Poteet (B−, 15 mi), Devine (C+, 23 mi).

Who polices Charlotte?

Charlotte’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Charlotte”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Charlotte feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Charlotte.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.