Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Carrizo Springs

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Revised Carrizo Springs, TX, Water Tower IMG 0447Photo: Billy Hathorn at English Wikipedia · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Carrizo Springs · Not graded

Crime recorded in Carrizo Springs, and why it isn’t graded

Eagle Pass, 39 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (C). Carrizo Springs’ police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
39 mi
Eagle Pass (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, no property crimes reported

Property crime (0)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Carrizo Springs0.0
Rest of TX3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Carrizo Springs0.0
Rest of TX20.6
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And no violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Carrizo Springs’ police reported

Show as a table
YearCarrizo SpringsRest of TexasCarrizo SpringsRest of Texas
2022not reported27.3not reported5.1
2023not reported26.3not reported4.7
2024not reported23.9not reported4.4
20250.020.60.03.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Texas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

0 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft0
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
0
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

0 violent and 0 property, as reported to the FBI by Carrizo Springs’ police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Texas towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Eagle PassC39 mi1.819.2
DilleyB+43 mi1.55.6
UvaldeC−48 mi3.718.6
PearsallB−53 mi2.28.3
SabinalA60 mi0.73.1
LaredoC70 mi3.713.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Carrizo Springs. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Carrizo Springs.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Carrizo Springs’s roads in 2019–2023

Carrizo Springs had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died; 1 was a pedestrian.

That is about what is typical for Texas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Carrizo Springs’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Carrizo Springs’s own rate (8.5) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
8.5
per 100,000 a year · Texas towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Carrizo Springs and its neighbors

Carrizo Springs
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Carrizo Springs. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Carrizo Springs’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (4,518 in 2025); our figure for Carrizo Springs is 4,491 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Carrizo Springs

Is Carrizo Springs, TX safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Carrizo Springs. The nearest Texas towns with a grade are Eagle Pass (C, 39 mi), Dilley (B+, 43 mi), Uvalde (C−, 48 mi).

Who polices Carrizo Springs?

Carrizo Springs’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Carrizo Springs”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Carrizo Springs feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Carrizo Springs.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.