Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Brownfield

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Brownfield Texas City Hall 2019Photo: Larry D. Moore · CC BY 4.0
Kendrick Memorial Library

Kendrick Memorial Library serves 11,567 people in and around Brownfield

Kendrick Memorial Library serves 11,567 people in and around Brownfield.

301 W Tate St., Brownfield 79316
DCivic lifeAhead of 13% of U.S. towns · #371 of 539 in Texas. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024

What stands out about Kendrick Memorial Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Brownfield’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Brownfield is ahead of 13% of U.S. towns, #371 of 539 in Texas. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Brownfield is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Brownfield’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 13%
FewerMore
Texas towns we grade (539)Ahead of 31%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $32K–$53K (2,592)Ahead of 20%

The survey’s stand-in for Brownfield’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($32K–$53K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Brownfield is small (8,762 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

18 community nonprofits are registered in Brownfield

2.1 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation40.46 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans40.46 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services30.34 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education10.11 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other60.69 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (12 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.2%

6.2% of Brownfield’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.7% in the typical Texas town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Brownfield’s residents live; 2022.

A year at the library

A year at Kendrick Memorial Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Kendrick Memorial Library system. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Kendrick Memorial Library, 301 W Tate St., Brownfield.

7,056
square feet
With a card

No late fees. Good at every Kendrick Memorial Library branch.

New in Brownfield? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Brownfield resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 11,567 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Kendrick Memorial Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Kendrick Memorial Library serves 11,567 people in and around Brownfield, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Brownfield.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Brownfield

Does Brownfield have a public library?

Yes. Kendrick Memorial Library, 301 W Tate St., serves 11,567 people in and around Brownfield (the survey’s count).

Is Kendrick Memorial Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Brownfield’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Brownfield’s civic life grade?

D Brownfield is ahead of 13% of U.S. towns on civic life, #371 of 539 in Texas. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Brownfield.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.